19
Dec
09

Disarm traps.. is that on my toolbar?

OK, before anyone comments on the title of the post, Blizzard didn’t make us put Disarm Traps on our toolbar.

But we do get to disarm a trap.  When was the last time you did that?  I’ve heard that it can be done in PvP (which I don’t do enough to say).  Other than that, I think the last time I disarmed a trap was at Ravenholdt Manor sometime around level 25.  Old school raiders used Disarm Traps in the Suppression Room in BWL (rogues – if you’ve never gone into BWL, you should take a few friends and go through it just to see what you missed).

A lot of people are playing rogues that they started only after BC or WotLK came out, so its possible that many of them have never disarmed a trap.  So lets review.  Rogues have the passive Detect Traps ability.  It gives you a heightened ability to see a trap before you reach it.

When you see a trap, normally you would use your Disarm Trap ability to get rid of it.  Disarm Trap requires you to be in stealth.  Traps are so rare these days that you almost certainly do not have Disarm Traps on your toolbar anywhere.  That’s OK, Blizzard is going to help you out in Icecrown Citadel.

So where is this trap?  Its in the first trash area in Icecrown Citadel.  I stumbled on it when we went in there yesterday.  As we were working our way through the room, I asked in chat, “What’s that thing on the ground there?”  The raid leader replied, “What thing?”  It turned out that I was the only one who could see it.  Rogue FTW!

(in the picture, the plume of smoke is from a flare I threw so that the rest of the raid would avoid the trap)

The item is called a Spirit Trap.  If anyone in the raid gets too close, it animates one of those huge bone giants that are standing against the walls.  They aren’t too terribly tough, but they would be an inconvenience if they showed up in the middle of other trash fights.

When you mouse over it (while stealthed), you’ll get a wheel.  Click on it and you’ll attempt to disarm it.  If you succeed, it doesn’t go away but you no longer get a wheel when you mouse over it.  If the disarm attempt fails – a bone giant will be running at you.   Vanish!

Honestly, a lot of raids will want you to leave the traps alone.  The bone giants give a nice chunk of Ashen Verdict reputation, and killing them get you closer to the rep rewards.  Still, this was a nice little nugget for Blizzard to throw in there for rogues.


14 Responses to “Disarm traps.. is that on my toolbar?”


  1. 1 Stonedrake
    December 19, 2009 at 9:47 am

    I have no words as to just how happy this makes me. Seriously. Being able to use my sneaky abilities? WIN.

  2. December 19, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    The first time I went into Ice Crown Citadel we did it blind. When I saw that trap I literally squealed with glee and about gave my husband the raid leader a heart attack. I have SO missed being able to use that rogue ability.

    It makes me feel USEFUL again. Yeah topping the damage meters is great but using abilities that no one else has? Priceless.

  3. December 19, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    We don’t disarm it, but we do have a rogue scout the area and locate all the traps. That way we can trigger them at our leisure, without suddenly having a bone giant attack while we’re dealing with the other adds.

  4. December 19, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    Evem in PvP you still don’t have to have the ability on your toolbar – you can always just right-click the traps to disarm them.

  5. 5 Zeenaa
    December 21, 2009 at 9:46 am

    A word of warning to my fellow rogues… I was told there should be 2 traps, I scouted but saw and marked only one… we proceeded to set it off to kill the bone giant and almost immediately after setting it off, another trap appeared nearby so I quickly marked it…. needless to say the raid was very appreciative of me after I explained what happend. So be on the lookout after setting off traps….

  6. 6 Frederico
    December 21, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    I’ve found on multiple occasions that after clearing the 1st room, and locating just one trap, we move onto the next room. Then while we are fighting the 2nd room trash, the 1st room trap miraculously arms, and a giant comes to anal us. Anyone else finding that happen?
    And im serious about search that 1st room. Everyone runs around like idiots, over every millimetre of ground, and it isn’t found …. lol

    • 7 Zeenaa
      January 8, 2010 at 9:30 am

      Yes, this happend to me last week. Found one trap in the 1st room….couldnt find the 2nd. I warned everyone the unless they want to prematurly activate the other giant, to not run around untill the 2nd trap appears. Sure enough we pull the 1st set of mobs in the 2nd room and the 2nd trap appears. It was too late though. One of our healers ran back to get her new ring and upon return, stepped right on the trap just as I got close enough to see it. Now I swear as I was fighting a group of mobs, I saw a trap appear. Do you have to be stealthed to see the trap?? Or the reason to stealth is to get nearer to mobs and disarm? You dont have to be stealthed to see traps right??

  7. December 22, 2009 at 7:55 am

    Yeah I mark the traps instead of disarmin them, so we dont activate the giants during trash pull.
    Anyway, if you disarm them, they they become active an hour after.
    Also, i think theres a trap per giant, so there should be 4 traps, but they seem to appear in different times (the traps).

  8. January 7, 2010 at 5:10 am

    Don’t think alot of ppl disarm the traps yet.. They wanna get to exalted, so the 300 rep those 4 guys give, is quite alot considered that a boss gives 250 rep.

    But on another note. BwL was awesome. Well designed and just pure fun to do, eventho it took alot of time to get to Neffy 😉

  9. January 22, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    I remember whenever I did Bloodfurnace I always disarmed the engineering mines, about the only time I used disarm trap. I never did BWL on my rogue but I had been in there on other toons, so ill have to go back in there with my rogue one of these days.

  10. 11 Alan / Falcon
    March 18, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    I find it fun to disarm traps in PvP, particularly when a Hunter drops one on a flag and runs off.


Leave a comment


Armory

Classic WoW:
Dinaer - 11 Assassination Rogue
Cepheid - 13 Prot Warrior
Cartho - 11 Elemental Shaman

Retail WoW:
Dinaer - 120 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Cartho - 120 Elemental Shaman (US - Quel-dorei)
Derence - 120 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 120 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 120 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 120 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
December 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,367,075 hits