23
Apr
17

The Mythic Roadblock

I, like many others, am full-blown casual this expansion. My guild is a barely-there assortment of people who log on, play solo in silence, and log off without any real interaction. There are no guild raids, no guild dungeon runs. I don’t even read chat anymore because there’s never anything there.

I think that this is increasingly common in the game, as the role of guilds as an organizational tool has been replaced by in-game grouping systems.

This model suits me just fine right now. Heroics can be queued for and run in silence. LFR covers raids. World quests give gear upgrades. Artifact Power provides a feeling of progress and something to grind.

But it seems that so many of the progression paths in the game run through mythics.

  • Unlocking the Suramar questline… mythic Court of Stars and Arcway (I know that has changed)
  • New remade Karazhan? Mythic only. (yes, that has changed, too)
  • Want to craft a legendary weapon? Mythic dungeon runs required.
  • Following the profession questlines? Mythic dungeons.
  • etc…

For players like me, these represent a real obstacle. The only way to do mythics is to have a group, or to venture into LFG, where you might be judged based on your item level, kicked for low dps, or called names for dying to boss mechanics. You have to actually interact with people.

Now, my item level is fine. My dps is fine. I don’t die too often. I don’t get kicked. And yet I still feel put off whenever I have to go into a mythic dungeon. I know it is an MMO, and I know what that stands for, but the designers have done so much to turn this into a solo game that the mythic system seems almost out of place.

Right now I’m spending hours trying to get into mythic Darkheart Thicket as a dps. Tedious and boring, just hitting refresh on the LFG tool. This is not my preferred part of the game.

0 Responses to “The Mythic Roadblock”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2017
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,276,979 hits

