25
May
16

Going Back to My Roots

Just over ten years ago, I decided that I wanted to start playing World of Warcraft.  This was in March of 2006, shortly after the Ahn’Qiraj event and about a year before Burning Crusade.

My wife insisted that she had to play as well.  Soon afterward, my two brothers and my sister-in-law subscribed.  This gave us a full 5-man group with my wife as healer and my youngest brother as tank.  We went into the game intending on just questing and playing 5-man content together as a family.  There was no thought of raiding or pvp or anything else.

At the time, my three children were ages 9, 3, and 2.

A new expansion is coming.  My guild has pretty much fallen apart, and I don’t expect many of them to come back for Legion.  I still play, but only solo content and the occasional LFG dungeon.

This summer, my wife is going to resubscribe.  My two older children have accounts and will have max level characters by August.  Thus, we have the makings of a 5-man family group once again.  My youngest doesn’t play, so we’ll have to fill that 5th spot from outside the family.

And so things come full circle.  I am going into Legion with no anticipation of raiding or playing max level content.  I am looking to quest and play 5-man content with my family.  And I am content with that.


2 Responses to “Going Back to My Roots”


  1. 1 Dreadie
    May 25, 2016 at 6:49 pm

    That actually sounds good man. I remember starting the game in July 2006. Many of my friends were playing it, but I had resisted trying it simply because I was more interested in studying, surfing and partying in my spare time back then. Eventually my brother got me into it by buying it as a gift, and I’m glad he did. We used to have the best time questing and running dungeons together.

    Life is very different now. Out of all the people I knew who used to play it, there’s only two of us left. Most of them left due to Cataclysm and my brother stopped playing earlier in WoD. I rarely have time to play these days, but enjoy jumping on for short periods as a more enjoyable way of distracting myself than TV.

    I do wish I could relive those days of fun and adventure with family and friends. I hope you have fun and the expansion is good enough to keep your whole family interested with you. Enjoy!

    • May 25, 2016 at 10:19 pm

      Thanks. I just found out my daughter’s boyfriend is leveling a character, so we’ll actually have a full group of five. I’m actually looking forward to playing for the first time in months.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
May 2016
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,265,538 hits

