19
Apr
16

Still no spoilers

Until this point I have kept myself out of the loop on Legion.  I have not looked extensively at class updates.  I have not taken even a single glance at the Artifacts or the Class Halls.  I can tell that these are works in progress and so I have covered up my ears and said la la la la to keep from seeing them in an unfinished state.

With the announcement that Legion will drop on August 30, I expect that the game will move into beta by May.  At that point I’ll probably start looking at the way things are shaking out.

If I get invited into the beta I will play it.  I have been in the beta for the past several expansions and I try to do my job and give feedback, find bugs, etc…

On that note…

I’ve been playing WoW for a long time.  Is it my memory playing trick on me, or is this extended “alpha” testing new for Blizzard?  Hear me out…

In the past few expansions, the beta test populations have gotten larger and larger.  People have come to think of beta as early game access, rather than testing and bug fixing.  I suspect this might be frustrating for Blizzard.  When folks don’t get a beta invite, they get angry. (entitlement issues)

How does Blizzard fix this? They could just give out fewer beta invites.  However, that will alienate or anger an already dissatisfied player base.  So instead they run their usual beta testing but call it “alpha”.  No one is angry because there’s no expectation to get invited to a limited alpha, and they are waiting for the beta and their inevitable invite.

When the game does finally go to beta, lots of invites go out and it is essentially early access in everything but name.

So is Blizzard just changing the names to keep everyone placated? Lets see how many of us get into the beta.


0 Responses to “Still no spoilers”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,265,538 hits

