12
Apr
16

Forever a… Lock?

In the current content lull, I’ve been working on alts.  I’ve never been an alt-o-holic.  I have some, but I’m not over loaded with them.

My main is, of course, my rogue.  I also have a max level druid that I play and raid with.  I have a max-level paladin that I keep leveled and geared in case we need a tank in a pinch. I have a max level shadow priest for when I feel like doing caster dps.  I also have a max level arcane mage that I use for for inscription and enchanting, but I do find him fun to play.

I have a 2nd rogue and a warrior at level 92 to have more garrisons for gold making.

That leaves me with shaman, hunter, death knight, monk, and warlock that I have never leveled up to or even near the level cap.  I’ve heard that locks are fun these days, so I decided to give the lock a go.

Well, at low levels it really sucked.  For one, the demon pets are too strong (same complaint I have about hunters).  I can sick my pet on things and then go off and pick flowers while the pet does all the work.  I never get hit or even bothered.  Some people see this as a feature, but to me that’s dull and uninteresting.

Second is that it was too repetitive.  There wasn’t enough variety in the attack options.

Worst, though were running dungeons.  With just one instant nuke (HoG), in general I would get one or maybe two casts off per pull.  I finished in dead last in damage on every dungeon run I made from level 20 until level 80. I got kicked out once and threatened on other occasions due to low damage. I had to stack haste, haste, and more haste on my gear just to get off more casts to do decent damage.

Plus the lack of a speed boost was annoying.  I was often left behind in dungeons, and I’d catch up in time to get one cast before everything was dead.

On top of that, I hate managing pets.  The pet has caused problems in a couple of dungeon runs due to pathing oddities or pulling extra mobs.

I don’t really know how I made it, but now at higher levels the lock is starting to perform a little better. If I time things well I can do competitive damage.  Plus the pet makes questing efficient since I can pull a lot of mobs at once (at low levels I wasn’t doing much questing)

I doubt I’ll be playing this toon with any frequency once I hit the level cap, but it has been an experience.

Next up… maybe shaman?  I really didn’t like DK or monk in the little I played them, and I’ve had enough with the pets for now so I’ll wait on the hunter.


1 Response to “Forever a… Lock?”


  1. 1 michael watts
    May 19, 2016 at 11:27 am

    I feel your pain.. just hit 60 and well the dmg is just terrible… I mean if the fight lasts longer than an immolation cycle I am golden, but usually that is not the case. I


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,265,538 hits

