26
May
15

I just realized… I’m the target demographic!

I read blogs.  I read the WoW subreddit on Reddit.  I look at my guild roster at all the inactive accounts.  I see all the gnashing of teeth and the wringing of hands.

So why am I still logging on 3-5 nights a week?

1) I decided early on in the expansion that I was going to pace myself.

I remember in the first few weeks after the expansion was released that I was completely overwhelmed with all the stuff to do.  At the time, I was super busy in real life, so I couldn’t throw myself into the game and inhale all the varied activities.  So I decided then to pace myself – tackle one thing, then move onto the next.

So I leveled my two raiding toons and geared them up.  When raiding dried up, I moved on to making gold.  When that stabilized, I went to pet battles.  Now that I’m reaching my pet battling goals, I’m going to start working on filling up my Toybox.  Because of this measured bit-by-bit approach, I have not run out of things to do.

2) I can only play for 1-1.5 hours at a time.

I never have a chance to get bored.  My Garrison routine on 5 characters takes me about 40 minutes.  Then I only have 20-40 minutes left to fill up.  Its easy to do that without getting bored.  I can go catch some wild pets, run an LFR heroic, do a Garrison Campaign mission, etc…  This pretty much makes me the target demographic for the current expansion.

3) I’m now playing for free

With three max-level Garrisons and an enchanter, my passive gold-making is about 8-10k per week with zero effort on my part.  That more than pays for a monthly WoW Token.  With no actual money at stake, why not keep playing?

4) I don’t miss raiding

Don’t get me wrong, I love raiding.  But it is only one of the myriad of available activities, and I’m content to busy myself with other things while I patiently wait for raiding opportunities to happen again.

5) I’ve been through this before

In late Burning Crusade, my guild went through a dead period.  People stopped logging in.  People left the guild.  On many evenings I was the only one online.  I was patient, and it eventually turned around.  As the saying goes – this, too, shall pass.


1 Response to “I just realized… I’m the target demographic!”


  1. 1 Keith
    May 27, 2015 at 12:32 am

    As usual, a great post. Also a good read.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
May 2015
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,265,538 hits

