27
Dec
14

Grimrail Depot is the Worst Thing Ever

I’m very patient.  I don’t gripe in party chat.  I don’t call people noobs.  I don’t tell people how bad they are playing.  I generally stay silent, respawn after a wipe, then go back and do my thing but try and do better.

I tolerate both the good and the bad in LFD groups.  Sometimes you get a great group, sometimes you don’t.  That’s life.

That said, my problems with Grimrail Depot are not from the players or the inevitable griping and drama that comes with a run through this hellish place.  This is all Blizzard’s fault.  I have now run Grimrail Depot three times – twice as a healer and once as dps.  I will never run it again.  Here’s why.

  • After making the game more and more of a solo affair, pushing us into LFD and LFR and Garrisons and reducing any need to communicate, the first boss in Grimrail Depot actually requires some form of coordination.  Since most players have been trained by Blizzard to run in and pull without fear, this inevitably leads to drama.  Who is killing what?  Why did you kill the little guy first?
  • When on the train, during trash packs there is fire everywhere.  I’m a good little player – I’ve learned to run out of fire.  But wait!  We’re in a narrow little corridor with no room to maneuver.  So we get caught in fire no matter how much we want to get out of it.  Sorry healers.
  • Line of sight.  Take one wrong step, and you’re out of sight of the healer.  Let the finger-pointing commence.
  • The second boss is the biggest mess of any instance boss I can remember.  The Dungeon Journal – a real advance in the game – gives no real clear advice on what the heck is going on in that fight.  I’ve done it three times and I still don’t have a clear idea of what I’m doing.
  • The sliding backward thing during the second boss?  Whatever developer came up with that should have to sit on a rolling chair on an inclined floor while he tries to do work at Blizzard HQ.

In three times through this instance I’ve totaled about 18 wipes.  It doesn’t matter how patient I am, that’s more than I can take.  Thanks, Blizzard, but I’ll pass on this one.


4 Responses to “Grimrail Depot is the Worst Thing Ever”


  1. 1 Matt F
    December 27, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    I have completed this instance twice…and both times i have arrived into the dungeon on the last boss.

    I kept thinking how unlucky i was that i missed the first few bosses. After hearing what a pain it is, maybe i should be glad i didnt have to deal with it.

    Random tidbit…i died the first time where the flames come down the sides of the car as i was running to the group. After the group passes that train car, that stuff should shut off.

  2. December 27, 2014 at 7:55 pm

    The 2nd boss of Grimrail Depot is far and away the most painful in the game right now, and you are absolutely correct that it’s completely due to decisions that Blizzard made. It’s horrible horrible horrible.

    And as it’s required for the legendary ring, you will have to run it whether you like it or not.

    The “thing” for this fight is you have to loot the bodies of the mobs. If you loot mortar shells, you have to hop in one of the small cannons on the side and use the cannon ability to shoot the boss. if you loot grenades, you get an extra action button to throw antipersonnel grenades. And there is a third ammo that you can use on the small cannons to fire antipersonnel shrapnel.

    This is, of course, not at all clear, and even if you know what’s happening is still a chaotic mess.

    If you’re taking up a collection to find the encounter designer and hang him upside down by his heals then I will certainly make a sizable donation.

  3. December 28, 2014 at 12:38 pm

    My big complaint on the second boss is the effect of the low ceiling on camera angles. I eventually scrolled the camera all the way in and played it in first person mode. This was much easier.

  4. 4 Proxxie
    January 2, 2015 at 2:43 pm

    I’m so glad you posted this. When I ran this instance for the quest, I kept holding my breath waiting to be kicked by the party because I couldn’t sustain through all the fire. Granted, I was only ilevel 608 at the time, but there was just nowhere to run away from all the fire being spewed everywhere. Fortunately, they didn’t kick me, and they actually ended up wiping a couple times as well. Poor healer just couldn’t keep up. I can honestly say I will never run this dungeon again if I can help it.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
December 2014
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,265,538 hits

