19
Nov
14

When do the dungeons show up?

I’m a quest reader and storyline follower.  I love to play through the game, following the characters and the lore.

I am used to dungeons showing up as part of a questline.  For example, in Mists you got to Stormstout Brewery as part of the Chen Stormstout questline in the Valley of the Four Winds zone.  You got quests and backstory that led you to go into that dungeon.

This week I’ve played through a lot of Shadowmoon Valley, and I am level 92.  The first leveling dungeon, Bloodmaul Slag Mines, is listed as a level 90-92 instance.  That means I’ve almost outleveled it, and I haven’t seen any mention of it in the game.

Will there be something in the game that leads me to it?  Or am I supposed to just queue for it because it is on the LFG list?

5 Responses to “When do the dungeons show up?”


  1. 1 nbcaffeine
    November 19, 2014 at 10:06 am

    Think you’re just supposed to know to queue via the list. I hit 94 the other day, and got a notice that a new dungeon was unlocked, but no other breadcrumbs to lead you there.

    • November 19, 2014 at 11:50 am

      If that is the case, that really annoys me. I’m a lore guy and a story guy. Just queuing from the finder because its there is completely uninteresting to me. It places game mechanics before story, which is not the game I have come to love.

  2. 3 Aenar
    November 19, 2014 at 10:39 am

    Perhaps that dungeon is tied to the Horde starting zone, seeing as it’s an Ogre thing? I’m playing Alliance and I was wondering about that too. Most of the dungeons in the game had some lead-in in quests.

  3. 4 Saniel
    November 19, 2014 at 3:37 pm

    My main is 97 and has unlocked 3 or 4 dungeons so far. I just started questing in Spires.

    So far the only dungeon I’ve felt lead to in any way in Auchindoun, and not because any quest specifically sends me in there to do something. Just because in the natural progression of one of the quest lines, you end up right outside the instance portal.

    This also happened with one of the level 100 dungeons in another zone, but I forgot which one. Obviously it didn’t let me in when I accidentally stepped through the instance portal.

  4. 5 Nobody
    December 8, 2014 at 10:39 am

    I have noticed what I think is a change in design philosophy from previous expansions, in regards to dungeons, crafting, etc. oddly, I have not read anything official on this, just my observations.
    i leveled to 100, cleared 3 of the zones and did not get a single quest leading me to a dungeon.
    the 2 dungeons i ran while leveling did not have a single quest inside either, as did previous expansions.
    once i got a level or two past the intended level requirement, the dungeon disappeared from LFD.
    most dungeons are not available till 100.
    since the starter zones are faction specific, i can understand not getting a quest for a dungeon in a zone you’ve never seen.
    but why not give faction specific quests?
    in previous expansions, i could level professions to near max, especially on alts, and make cool stuff to level with.
    in WoD, the mats required make it nigh impossible to make useful gear for leveling.
    unless you grind the garrison and level slowly. very slowly.
    i get the feeling blizzard would rather you did not level by dungeon in WoD – too many garrison specific quests and rewards.

    long story short, it seems bliz has taken a somewhat GW2 approach – super fast leveling to cap and then the “fun” starts. imo, a very deliberate change in design philosophy.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,276,888 hits

