25
Feb
13

What now?

I don’t mean in game.  I mean with this blog.  I’ve been running the blog since 2008.  My play has gone through many stages since then.  My current playstyle doesn’t give me a lot to talk about.

Starting in BC and then through Wrath and Cataclysm I stayed fairly well at the forefront of the game.  I wasn’t a hardcore raider, but I was very knowledgeable on the game in general and the rogue class in particular.  While I have never done heroic raid modes, I think I was informed enough to know how rogues would perform and I was qualified to give pretty good advice and recommendations on all aspects of rogue play.

Now I have gone full casual.  My raid team just last week downed Elegon on normal mode, and now we’re slowly learning Will of the Emperor.  By the time patch 5.2 comes with its new raid tier, I will only have seen 6 of the 16 bosses in the current tier.  I haven’t even done the other ten on LFR.

I could write a great post on how to maximize rogue dps on Elegon.  I do really well on that fight.  However, at this point in the expansion, is that post even needed?  Many rogues will be raiding Tier 15 next week.  I expect I won’t even take a peek in there for a month or more.  What can I offer in this blog that is useful to the rogue community?

The game has been so homogenized.  There is little in the PvE game that is unique to rogues.  Most melee classes are pretty similar in tactics and strategies, and that information is readily available on Icy Veins or Elitist Jerks.

With little to offer the rogues of WoW, I’m struggling to find a reason to post here.

What now?

8 Responses to “What now?”


  1. February 25, 2013 at 10:00 am

    If you’re not at the front of raiding and never truly were (yet still had readers), then why would you suppose that those who read your blog now expect you to be or would require you to be in order for you to still be qualified to blog about playing your Rogue? How about the fact that I don’t even play a rogue, but I still come here to read all of your posts? Does that give you a little insight in to how little it matters that you’re the master of rogue raiding?

    In this last weekend alone I’ve seen three rogues in my guilds talk about having no idea how to play their rogues correctly in this expansion. They got them to 90, sure, but that’s not really much of a challenge. Where are the other rogue bloggers, D? Are any of them still alive and kicking? You’re the only one left in my feedreader, I can tell you that.

    • 2 BenDover
      February 25, 2013 at 10:44 am

      Gotta agree here. You don’t have to be ahead of the curve to describe the angle it takes. It’s a small minority of the player base who are actually at the cutting edge of progression, competing for server 1sts and such. Most of us, and a lot of us are people who used to play more seriously, are now a lot more casual about the game, as our lives and responsibilities have taken priority. We’ve just grown a bit older and can’t afford to invest as much time to gaming as we used to. Yet, we still very much enjoy playing.

      There’s plenty of stuff to write about, even if you ain’t at the peak of progression. We’ve got theorycrafters going through the math, so there’s always need for someone to interpret that data. The way you do stuff in the game as a Rogue, even with all the homogenization, is different to that of any other Melee class. Many players tend to think differently, depending on their class. As a Warrior I’m all gungho and I’m wreaking havoc as an unstoppable force of deadly death. As a Rogue I tend to asses my situation a lot more, think about how to gain a tactical edge, no matter if it’s just how to get to a quest mob or how to capture a point in a Battleground.

      There’s plenty to write about and not too many people writing. We’ve got other people looking at the cutting edge, but that doesn’t really have much affect on the majority of players out there, who play the game a lot more casually.

  2. 3 nbcaffeine
    February 25, 2013 at 11:42 am

    I don’t even main a rogue anymore and I still have your site on my list. You’ve always had a good perspective on the game.

    I’d be interested in hearing how they shape up in 5.2, how you think they play. Mine’s still 86, just couldn’t get into it after playing a DW Frost DK.

  3. 4 tom
    February 25, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    I have to agree, that your perspective is a very common one in the current game. And personally I enjoy your writing please keep us updated on your adventures.

  4. 5 ellori
    February 28, 2013 at 3:43 am

    I would personally be interested in that post on how to maximize rogue dps on WotE. My alt rogue may hit 90 and have reason to do it someday. And the little tricks that people use to maximize dps are always interesting–you go ‘why didn’t I think of that’ and think of other situations to apply them to.

  5. February 28, 2013 at 10:22 pm

    You’ve been on my reading list since BC and still are. I agree that boss strategies are well covered elsewhere. I read the blog for the rogue specific tips, tricks and experience. Rogue blogs are few and far between now days. I’d be sad to see no more posts but I’d understand if it was too hard to fine the time. Regardless I salute your hard work and quality output that I’ve enjoyed for so long.

  6. 7 hamacus
    March 5, 2013 at 2:25 am

    Din,
    While your post may not be bleeding edge thay are always insightful and I enjoy them as well. Keep it going and kudos for all your efforts to keep us entertained and informed.

  7. March 19, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    Been a fan since u started blogging. Don’t scare us like that!


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,186,430 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

