20
Dec
10

Getting There, Slowly

Its hard to believe it, with as much time as I spend in game, but I haven’t even reached level 84 yet.

Real Life has conspired to thwart me here.  I made a commitment to level with my wife when the expansion came out.  In an unfortunate bit of timing, she started a new job just days before Cataclysm, which has severely curtailed her game time.  As a result, I have spent many hours in game without her, and I’ve had to pursue activities that would not lead me to level up in her absence.

In our short snippets of play time we’ve worked through all of Mount Hyjal and Deepholm, putting us more than halfway through level 83.  Next up is Uldum.

What am I doing to keep busy if I can’t level?

  • Every day I do the cooking and fishing dailies on multiple characters.
  • I spend a lot of time crafting glyphs and netherweave bags and playing around in the auction house
  • I’ve been buying up cooking mats to get my guild to the Set the Oven to Cataclysmic achievement and unlock the first cooking feast.
  • I have tried to level my tradeskills, but I have not been able to completely level up all of them because I cannot access the vendors in Twilight Highlands yet.  I’ve gotten the easy ones – fishing, cooking, and first aid – done.  Also skinning.  Still working on leatherworking, inscription, tailoring, enchanting, mining, and engineering.
  • I have not gotten very far in archaeology.  For one, it was giving me XP and I was going to level ahead of my wife by doing it.  I even tried turning off XP gains to do it.  But – and I hate to say this because I know some people love it – its pretty dull.  I can only do it for a short while before I feel like I am wasting my time.  I’m not into pets and mounts so there is little draw for me.
  • I’ve worked on my paladin, getting him to 82 in Vashj’ir.  I don’t want him to be my first toon to the level cap, though.  Also, He is specced only into Prot and I’ve not had the guts to try tanking with him yet.  Leveling as prot has not been bad at all.

I do feel a little bothered in my current situation. Back in the Wrath release I also leveled slowly due to time constraints at the holidays.  However, leveling took longer in Wrath.  Despite my slow start, I was not that far behind my guildmates when I reached the level cap.

In Cataclysm, leveling was over in the blink of an eye, even for many casual players.  As I have plodded toward the level cap at a glacial pace, I know that I am falling behind.  Its an uncomfortable feeling, and another reason why I wish the leveling part of the game was a bit more robust.

Fortunately for me, I know that I’ll catch up quickly.  Thanks to having a large supply of gold, I’ll be able to buy up BoE items from the auction house and speed up the gearing process once I reach 85.

So, fair warning to any who come here looking for rogue advice.  Most of you will probably be raiding and doing heroics before me.  In previous expansions, I wrote raid guides for rogues that were pretty well-received.  I hope to get to that as soon as I can, but it may be a little while longer.  I won’t write a guide until I have done the fight myself, and that’s not going to happen for a couple of weeks yet.

0 Responses to “Getting There, Slowly”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,274,258 hits

