06
Dec
10

As Ready As I Want To Be

The above picture is my gold total.  I made an arbitrary goal of 100k gold before the expansion, and I reached it.  I’m not a millionaire, but its more than enough for any of my playing needs.

The big topic in the blogosphere this week has been getting ready for the expansion that is coming tomorrow.  The preparations that people make give an interesting insight into the type of gamer that they are.

Here’s what I did do to prepare.

  • Maxed my professions on all of my alts.  That way I can start crafting new items right away without having to scramble for old-world materials.
  • Got rid of extra gear.  Like many (or most) players, I often carry around multiple gear sets.  Even on my rogue, I’d carry around some with haste and some with crit, or some that are better for combat while others are better for mutilate, and an assortment of trinkets.  Starting on Tuesday I’ll be leveling instead of raiding, and I expect to quickly replace a lot of my gear.  Therefore there is no point carrying extra items.  I narrowed everything down to one item per gear slot for leveling.  The others got vendored or put in my bank.
  • Emptied bags.  This goes with the above.  I want to have as much bag space as possible for quest items and crafting mats.  Each of my toons has 40-50 free bag slots.
  • Did the cooking daily on all of my toons.  I only level cooking on my main, but the other characters can use their cooking tokens to buy Crates of Tasty Meat.
  • Made a lot of glyphs for the new toons that will start next week.  Based on what I am hearing from my friends, I anticipate that there will be a lot of worgen rogues and warriors.  So I made a fair number of rogue and warrior glyphs to capitalize on that.  I still have a fair inventory of several hundred glyphs to sell, also.
  • Bought epic flying on my two toons with gathering professions.  If we can fly in Azeroth, I might as well do it in style.  Also, in the first few days, ore and herb prices will be outrageous – possibly more than 100g per stack.  Rather than level, I may spend time gathering and selling ore and herbs.
  • Accumulated materials to craft a couple of items that will give me skill-ups at 450 skill.  I didn’t spend a ton of gold, but I got enough stuff to get a few points right off the bat in most of my crafting professions.
  • Moved all of my 80’s to Stormwind.  As much as my dwarf really wanted to stay in Ironforge, and as much as I prefer Darnassus in general, the fishing and cooking dailies are in SW so that’s the place to gather.

On the other hand, here’s what I did not do to prepare.

  • Get 25 completed quests in my quest log.  This is a common strategy for the players who can’t wait to race to the level cap in the first week.  I have no intention of doing that.  My quest log is basically empty.
  • Stock up on Red Bull, Mountain Dew, and Hot Pockets.  I won’t be having marathon gaming sessions this week.  I have a job and a family.  And I don’t live in my mom’s basement.
  • Stock up huge amounts of materials to blitz the auction house.  Expansions can be a huge boon for gold makers.  Its very uncertain, though, which of the materials will be the high-demand items.  Rather than risk it, I’ll look for profit opportunities after things settle down a bit.
  • Plan out my leveling process.  I know players who have their whole first levels planned out – what instances they are going to do, where they are going to go and when.  This mindset goes along with the “race-to-85” thinking that doesn’t work for me.  I’ll follow the breadcrumb quests and end up wherever Blizzard leads me.

As you see, I could do a lot more if I wanted to, but  I don’t want to turn this into a stressful, high-intensity experience.

We all have our own goals.  Some people want to be raiding by the weekend to be among the first in the new raids.  Others want to try for realm-first achievements.  Some want to make 50k gold on the auction house in the first week.  I have no such ambitions, and to me setting goals like that make this a much more stressful process.  I want to enjoy the new zones, the new quests, the new abilities.  There’s plenty of time to raid, make gold, and get achievements later.

8 Responses to “As Ready As I Want To Be”


  1. 1 Verbal
    December 6, 2010 at 9:21 am

    Great post, Din. No rush for me, either. Need a raiding break, though. The rush to get Kingslayer (didn’t happen yet) is getting to me, and a nice break to level, explore, finally start cooking/fishing, is exactly what the doctor ordered.

  2. December 6, 2010 at 10:09 am

    I’ve done a little here and there, like getting rid of some of the junk that’s been clogging my bank and bags, though I still have way too much (primal life, anyone?). I’m looking forward to leveling, I sometimes feel like I’m the only person in the world who does.

    And I agree with you about the planning thing — I was trying to think about where I should go to start, but I think I’ll probably just go to which ever zone I grab a quest for first.

    Have fun!

  3. December 6, 2010 at 10:38 am

    I have been so wrapped around my new troll druids finger that I haven’t done much preparation at all. I think I may stick with her while everyone is fighting for mobs in the new zones and the goblin/worgen starter zones. Will be less stressful. So, I guess that means I have some time to get all my ducks in order 🙂

    • December 6, 2010 at 11:45 am

      I’m going to wait on my worgen. I remember the phased Death Knight zone back when it was introduced. Tons of DKs all fighting over the same quest mobs. The worgen zone will probably be similar.

      When you think about it, it might be better just to take a week off from the game and let the craziness die down all around.

  4. December 6, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Darn it Din! I thought I could count on you to be a member of my bed pan brigade 🙂

    Seriously though I am with you and plan to ENJOY the game rather than devour it in a feeding frenzy.

    Grats on letting that gold out of your hands for the epic flying…I know it was hard but it is worth it 🙂

    • December 6, 2010 at 11:43 am

      I really was difficult. I hate spending gold.

      And now my daughter wants me to buy epic flying for her death knight, and my wife asked for gold to get flying for one of her alts. Before I know it, I’ll be back at nothing!

  5. December 6, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    I’ve tried to play the AH game before and it’s just not fun for me. Auctioneer and thresholds and undercutting and price points…I get obsessed. (Had to imagine, right?)

    Maybe I’ll just send you a bunch of my stuff and let you auction it off for a 20% cut. 😛


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,276,888 hits

