05
Jul
10

Summer Goals

My job affords me a lot of free time over the summer.  Along with spending time with my family and getting chores done around the house, I have the time to do some daunting tasks in WoW and accomplish some personal goals.

  • Get my mage alt to 80 using only the LFG system – finished!   I went from the mid-20s to max level doing no questing, just running instances.  With the 15-30 minute queues for dps this was pretty slow and took me several months.  The odd thing is that I don’t have a lot of motivation to run him in heroics now to gear him up.  Just getting him to 80 was the accomplishment.  At this point he will continue to be my gold-maker with inscription.
  • Loremaster – in progress.  I’ve finished Eastern Kingdoms and am a little more than halfway through Kalimdor.  Outland is done and most of Northrend is finished, too.  This is, of course, a slow grind but I hope to have it done by the end of July.
  • Do the AQ opening questline – in progress.  There is no real reward for this.  No title or mount or even Feat of Strength.  I originally started this because the only cooking recipe I don’t have is Dirge’s Kickin’ Chimaerok Chops and that is a reward from one of the AQ line of quests.  Then I looked at the rest of the questline and it seems so epic.  There are world raid bosses such as Maws that you only see as part of this questline.  I’ve done the first few steps.  The obstacle now is to get my Brood of Nozdormu rep to Neutral.  I’ve gotten it from Hated to Hostile with a few pug AQ runs, and now I need to grind Silithid Carapace Fragments for the last few thousand rep.
  • Make gold – I’m not going to be at the gold cap any time soon.  However, I’ve gotten into a rhythm with my auctions and I’m routinely pulling in 3-5k gold a week.  If I can keep that up for a little longer then I’ll be financially set going into the expansion.

Yes, I know that the AQ opening questline is pointless and no longer the challenge that it once was because I am 20 levels higher than the characters it was designed for.  Still, as a completionist who has 30+ exalted factions and is going for Loremaster, it irks me that there is this whole part of the game that I have never seen.  And its my time to waste as I see fit  🙂

For guild goals, I also hope to finally down the Lich King, but the summer doldrums and vacations have stalled our raiding.  My fingers are crossed that we can get back in the groove soon and beat Arthas and take down Halion while we’re at it.

3 Responses to “Summer Goals”


  1. July 5, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    Icecrown is the hardest area in Northrend. If you have that done then you’re fine. Outland is easy and I found Kalimdor easier than Eastern Kingdoms.

    • July 6, 2010 at 11:28 am

      I don’t have Icecrown done yet. I’m waiting to do that zone with Aellkynne, but her play time has been limited. I also haven’t done Grizzly Hills, but that shouldn’t be hard.

  2. 3 argathne
    July 7, 2010 at 10:31 am

    I thought you would have Down LK on that list too =) But Loremaster is a good goal. I am not crazy enough to do it. So you wont need to fight for kills against me =P But good luck on said goals. And Congrats on 80 on your mage.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,274,878 hits

