08
Dec
09

My realm,_____ , is always the last one up on patch days

Patch day.  Every time its the same.  Maintenance is extended anywhere from two to four hours.  Then realms start slowly coming online, usually with some hiccups in the authentication servers.

People have selective memories.  We’ll forget the times that our realm came up right away, but remember (with anger) the times that it took extra hours of impatiently waiting in front of the computer.  Thus, when we think back on all of the patch days people tend to say “My realm is ALWAYS one of the last ones up” even though that statement is false.

In my case, though, my realm has been one of the last ones up for the past two content patches.  I even have screenshots of the realm status site somewhere to show it.

It doesn’t bother me, personally.  I am aware that technical glitches happen, and all of the morons who yell in forums and can say nothing more than “gg Blizzard” should try programming their own MMO and running the servers to handle a few million users.

I feel bad for Premonition (US).  They are on my server and every new patch they are rushing to get world firsts on new content.  And, now for both ToC and ICC, the Sen’jin server has given the rest of the US a head start over them.  I don’t know enough about the Icecrown raids to know if the few hours of delay will make a difference in their achievements.  If this keeps up, though, I wonder if they will consider moving to another server for Cataclysm.

2 Responses to “My realm,_____ , is always the last one up on patch days”


  1. 1 Zeenaa
    December 9, 2009 at 8:17 am

    I thought maybe servers were managed in alphabetical order but that must not be the case. Im on Arygos and its always one of the last few to come up as well. Blizzard must have other technical means of sorting out the servers, hehe

  2. 2 Llamaeggs
    December 9, 2009 at 11:04 am

    In regards to Premonition, you may be onto something. I play on Shandris which has not been a front-runner as far as world-firsts go, but our top Horde guild, Epitome, just scored the world-first on the 25-versions of the 2nd and 3rd boss encounters last night (or so I was told). Now, those guys are some damn fine raiders – way better than me – but I didn’t expect to see them nailing a couple world-firsts. I think the fact that the Blizzard gods looked kindly upon Shandris yesterday definitely helped them out.

    That said, I don’t want to sound like I’m poo-pooing their achievements. There were still several other servers up, so big props to Epitome.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,274,258 hits

