05
Jan
09

Rogue report – my dps in Naxx

Follow up to my post about the Naxxramas run. Let me tell you about rogue dps in Naxx.

Its still good. No worries.  At least in 10-man Naxx.

Our five dps toons were me, a warlock, a fury warrior, an enhancement shaman, and a mage. The warlock and fury warrior are old-school raiders and pug-aholics and they both outgeared me by a lot. The shaman and mage were at about my gear level.

Overall I did about 2100 dps averaged over all the boss fights in the run, which is pretty good. I did better damage on bosses than the mage and shaman, but usually couldn’t keep up with the warlock and warrior. I walked away with a couple of minor upgrades (Cloak of Mastery, Nerubian Conquerer) and one really nice upgrade (Boots of the Worshipper).

Thoughtworthy – I made an effort to keep rupture up as much as I could, and it only made up 5-7% of my overall dps on boss fights. And that’s with a feral druid putting Mangle on the bosses. Hmm….

Rogue-favored fights involve single targets and as little movement as possible. There are a few of those in Naxx.

The best rogue fight in there is Patchwerk. There is no moving or changing targets. Its a stationary dps race. On that fight I was over 3000 dps and able to out-damage the fury warrior despite the gear difference (couldn’t catch the ‘lock though).

Another good rogue fight is Loatheb. If someone else is in charge of killing the spores then you never have to switch targets and only move to get near a spore for the buff. Due to the fungal buff, this was my highest dps fight (3300+).

Thaddius also would have been a good fight for me if I didn’t get myself zapped and killed through my own error. I was near 3000 dps up to that point on that boss.

Bad fights for me were Grobbulus, due to all of the moving around, and Gothik the Harvester since it was like an extended trash fight with lots of changing targets.

Here’s a thought – should I do a “Rogue in Naxx” series talking about rogue strategies on each boss? I did that for Karazhan back in the day, and it was very popular, but Kara was harder and less forgiving of errors. I get the feeling that a lot of people aren’t researching strats for Naxx the way they used to for Kara.

13 Responses to “Rogue report – my dps in Naxx”


  1. 1 Illianeth
    January 5, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    First, I was glad to read the previous post and this one about your groups success in Naxx. Grats on the drops! I am glad to hear some evidence of non HAT rogues pulling their weight. Your point about rupture is also interesting. I’ve just gone back and looked at a WWS report for an Archavon run, and rupture was only 9% damage on the boss (7% if trash is included). I’m not sure if this better/worse than BC, but it seems that it is not as big of a deal. Could those 5 combo points turn into more damage as an Envenom/Evis? I haven’t looked at the numbers, but if it could simplify my Assassination DPS routine, I would be happy. Keeping HFB up seems to be too much to ask of me in some encounters 🙂

    My vote is a very big YES for Rogue strats in Naxx. Those posts were how I originally found your blog (and they helped quite a bit). Also, there are still many, many dumb Rogues out there that get picked up for pug runs. Having one place to point them to for their specific strats would be nice.

  2. January 5, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Please please do a series of Rogue Strategies! Your Kara ones were invaluable, to the point I had macroed out some of the information to PST to new Rogues that hadn’t ever been to kara right before each fight.

    I find most strategies online aren’t geared to Rogues, so a Rogue must read into the guides a lot and then trial and error before they figure out what is the best Rogue method.

  3. January 5, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Remember that the Rupture damage is increased after you get 2 pieces of T7 by the set bonus. Also it would be a bit lower for Mutilate builds than for Combat since you don’t take these few points in Subtlety to get a Rupture damage buff there. But even then, for me it still does about 9 to 15% of total damage, depending on a boss and how much of movement he requires.

    And a big YES for the guides, even though I have cleared the instance. It’s still nice to see other people’s views. 🙂

  4. 4 Illianeth
    January 5, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    Yes, I’ve done a quick test and noticed that even guaranteeing a crit via cold blood does not put the same amount of damage out that rupture does. Also, the 2pc T7 bonus helps some. Rupture also helps do damage to a mob when you have to run out of melee range. So, worthwhile still.

  5. January 5, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    @Illianeth: for a fair test you need to change your spec and your glyphs – improved evis and the evis glyph will change the results a bit.

    That said, I believe prevailing wisdom is that rupture – while a small component of your overall damage – is still the best use of those combo points. Note that this can change from fight to fight depending on your crit rate (loatheb!) or the boss armor.

  6. 6 Adendris
    January 6, 2009 at 1:27 am

    I’d love to see a Rogue in Naxx guide. I loved the Kara one, and used it when I started going in with my guild. I’m starting to go into Naxx with my guild, and any help I can get would be much appreciated.

    Keep up the great work! I check here all the time to see if the blog’s updated.

  7. January 6, 2009 at 8:34 am

    I’d like to see a link to anonymos wws report 🙂
    Actualy was surprised when read that you did so well on your first Naxx run and gratz for that!

    Btw I find Gothik pretty easy(to top metters) because other classes doesn’t have instant attacks and while they cast their shadowbolts or lightning bolts the little mobs are already dead

    And I agree about the Grobulus – its very hard to keep up HFB and SnD and Rupture while your getting that stupid debuff and have to run afte rthe boss all time

  8. 8 Simbo
    January 6, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    I’d love to see a Rogue guide…in fact that was how I found this post…

  9. 9 Warstory
    January 6, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    First off, Grats on your raid! Looks like you made out pretty good. Your DPS looks slightly above average in comparison with the rogues I’ve teamed with. I cant remember exactly what my DPS(combat sword) was last night during the 25 man Naxx, but I think it was around 2600-2800. I’m just curious when you said “I made an effort to keep rupture up as much as I could”…Did you have it with five CP or were you cutting it short? In my playstyle rupture is one of my strongest attacks so it kind of catches me off gaurd to see everyone say its only 5-9% of their damage. But then again all I focus on is having that 5 CP rupture with 3 CP of SnD on at all times with the ocasianal burst of damage from cool downs. I dunno that could be a wrong way to do it but the timing just seems to work out for me.

  10. January 6, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    @Dabbler – If you can top the meters on Gothik due to instant attacks, then your group needs some AoE. Our pally gathered up all the mobs and they got AoE’d down. I had no chance.

    @Warstory – in a Mutilate build SnD never falls off due to Cut to the Chase. My Ruptures are always 4 or 5 points. With a full assassination build poisons make up an enormous part of my damage – over 25% in fact. In may be that Rupture is a smaller part of my overall damage just because my Envenoms and Poisons are powerful in relation, and ignore armor, while your Eviscerates and Sinister Strikes are mitigated by armor. That reduces the effectiveness of your physical damage, which will make your Rupture larger in comparison.

  11. January 7, 2009 at 5:24 am

    I haven’t done Gothik it on heroic(where it could be diffrenet) but on normal we never get more then 3 mobs at a time so not too much to aoe

  12. February 9, 2009 at 11:38 am

    Thanks for the run-down. I’m a full-out noob rogue who just powered up to 80 about a month ago. I’ve been dabbling with BGs (whenever the Allies actually manage to field a team) and have hit the occasional Instance run with my social guild. I also just installed Recount and have started to quantify what it is that I’m doing and how I can maximize that. Yesterday I topped out at around 1.7K DPS according to recount and was pretty excited about it until I ready your post. I can see I have some things to work on. Currently my cast sequence is: Backstab, Muti, Muti, SnD; Muti, Muti, Shiv (unless I’ve hit the 5 points), Evis; rinse and repeat with Tricks of the Trade pulled in whenever the CD ends plus the occasional Kick if interrupts are available. I do throw in Feint if we’re dealing with a Mob that throws AoE as well. Thanksfor the tips!


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,271,054 hits

