01
Dec
08

Tricks of the Trade = inflating Tank egos

I ran the Amphitheater of Anguish in Zul’Drak this weekend (actually three or four times as I helped out various guildies).  I had just dinged 75 and picked up Tricks of the Trade.  It was very nice to be able to attack immediately rather than wait for the tank to build threat.  Even with the new threat mechanics, I can pull aggro off many tanks if I’m not careful.

I wish I had taken a screenshot of the threat meter.  Ten seconds after combat began the tank had a gigantic lead in threat – a laughably huge margin.  When the combat ended, the pally tank gushed about how good paladin threat generation was.  I almost didn’t have the heart to tell him that I had passed my threat to him with TotT.

Then I told him anyway.  🙂
I’m still trying to figure out the best way to set it up for raids.  I currently have my TotT macroed to cast on my focus.

/cast [target=focus] Tricks of the Trade

When there is only one tank, as in a 5-man group, I can set him as the focus at the start of the run and then use this macro repeatedly during combat.  I’m thinking about the best way to clear and change my focus on the fly when there are multiple tanks in the group, as is likely when I start raiding.  It hasn’t come up yet, but I’ll try out a few options and see which I like best.

11 Responses to “Tricks of the Trade = inflating Tank egos”


  1. December 1, 2008 at 11:37 am

    I know what you mean about the threat lead, I did some 5 man runs an on some pulls Omen showed the tank with 10k threat and me barely showing up.

    I’ve been using the same macro for Tricks, however in raids I might try and co-ordinate with the hunters (there are a lot in our guild) so that we each take one tank. However in 5-mans Misdirect and Tricks appear to stack so we can go nuts straight away.

  2. December 1, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    I’m not sure you want to use Tricks only on the tank. Tank threat generation *is* very good, so the second and subsequent Tricks might be better used on a DPS player to boost her damage. The increase in threat doesn’t matter if she can’t catch the tank, and after 30s, the tank should have a solid lead.

  3. 3 Knife
    December 1, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    this might sound noobish (and it is) but how do you set focus?

    I think I understand your macro, but I’m a total macro-noob. Is it as easy as typing setfocus=*tankname* in the chat window?

  4. December 1, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    The easiest way to set a focus is to target the player and then type /focus

    The /focus command makes your current target the focus. It will remain as your focus until you type /clearfocus

  5. 5 Occeleta
    December 1, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    I may have the macro you’re looking for. I’m at work now but when I get home I’ll look it up. What it does is if your current target is friendly it will set your focus target. Then with focus target it’ll use TotT on your focus if your current target is unfriendly. So to change focus targets just select player and hit macro. I’ll get it to you when I can.

  6. December 1, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    @Rohan
    When I first got TotT, I had considered using it on myself for the dps boost, but that’s not allowed 😦

    I thought about using it on another dps class, but haven’t had time to work on that yet because nothing lasts long enough outside of instance bosses to even consider it. I also need to get a feel for the amount of threat that gets shifted with this. I’d hate to give TotT to someone and have them grab aggro. It shouldn’t happen with a good tank, but we don’t always have good tanks…

    I’ve only had the ability for two days, so I still need some play-time with it to get the hang of it. Once I am raiding and I figure out the best way to switch focus during combat, I’m sure I’ll throw some damage-boosting around.

  7. December 1, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    And with all the new changes in Wrath (and even before that with patch 3.0.2), you can simply right-click a person in your group and select “Set Focus”.

    On the topic, I’m still thinking about abusing the dps boost a bit and trading my tricks with our other rogue in raids. 15% more damage for us both should be nice. 🙂

  8. December 1, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    tricks really helped me address the threat problem i was having with one of our tanks. with it, i can DPS away without worrying about aggro. my macro’s like this:

    /assist tank
    /cast [target=tank] Tricks of the Trade
    /script SetRaidTarget(“target”,8)

    my macro’s like that because of two things: i don’t really join PUGs (so i just put the name of our guild’s tank in the “tank” line) and i’m usually the raid/group leader (so i can set marks). this way, my target is always the tank’s target and i can spam tricks on him whenever it’s available. also, the macro will set the skull icon on the target.

  9. 9 Kansin
    December 1, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    If you want to cast Tricks of the Trade on the tank, use:

    /cast [target=targettarget] Tricks of the Trade

    In raid environments, depending on the threat, I will use TotT on another DPS, as the increased damage is important.

  10. December 1, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    @Kansin
    I much prefer a macro that targets the tank directly.

    A role rogues can play in groups is the “healer savior”. A healer pulls aggro. I run over, attack the mob and grab aggro. Then I pop evasion and dodge until the mob gets taunted to the tank or off-tank. This shouldn’t be so much of an issue anymore as Blizzard has given better taunts to tanks.

    Still, if the mob is attacking the healer, then I can TotT on the tank and attack the mob, and it will go straight to the tank without my use of Evasion to survive.

    Is this likely to happen in Wrath? I don’t know. I’ve heard that raid bosses have lots of adds. A target of target macro won’t work in that case.

  11. 11 Frappuccino
    December 4, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Hey there! I read your blogs on a daily basis but I don’t tend to reply unless I feel I have something to bring to the table.

    I use the mouseover macro quite a bit, and it sounds like something you could use here. With this you don’t have to worry about setting a focus, or if you don’t want to use it on your focus.

    #showtooltip Tricks of the Trade
    /cast [target=mouseover,exists,help][target=target,exists,help][target=targettarget,exists,help] Tricks of the Trade

    This macro does the following:
    – If you have a mouseover target that you can cast TofT on, it will do so
    – If the above condition is not satisfied, but your current target can be used to cast TofT on to, it will do so
    – If neither of the above conditions are satisfied, but the target of your target (typically the tank when raiding, etc) can be used to cast TofT on to, it will do so

    I hope this helps!


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,273,268 hits

