27
Oct
08

Zombie Invasion

Let me say right up front that I like the current world event.  Others do not.  To each their own.

I guess I can sympathize with some of the people complaining about the zombie invasion.  Its a minor inconvenience at times.  However, from a story perspective I really like it.  It feels like something real is happening and progressing as we watch, which is different than the static, unchanging WoW world we usually play it.  I am on a PvE server, so all of this fighting may be problematic for some, but I am enjoying it.

One inconvenience is when a flight master, quest mob, or auctioneer is dead.  Then we have to wait a few minutes for them to respawn (about two minutes, I think).  Not a big deal, really, in the grand scheme of things.

A bigger inconvenience is to get infected yourself.  That involves a corpse run, which can be annoying. Still, not a game-breaker.

Yes, its worse when you are low level.  I understand that.

My one and only problem with this entire thing it the repair bill.  Turning into a zombie is essentially forced pvp.  I don’t get repair bills from other forms of pvp, so why do I get them from this one?  Every time I get turned into a zombie I get a 4g repair bill.  Not cool.

Here’s how I deal with it…

Do things that keep you outside of the cities – As I have been running around leveling an alt, doing achievements, or farming mats for raid consumables, I have made every effort to stay out of the cities.  For the times I do need to go back (to train, or sell stuff) I’m only there for a short time.

Keep flying – if you have a flying mount, stay in the air at all times.  Log off in the air, too.

Go to out-of-the-way places – I’ve started using the mailbox on top of Scryer’s Tier rather than the one in the Shattrath bank.  There are rarely zombies up there.  I’ve been using the auction house and bank in Exodar.  Their zombie population has been much lower than SW or IF (although there are still some there).

Be patient – If the flight master or quest NPC is dead, just walk away.  Fly up in the air (if in Outland) or go hide in an out-of-the-way spot somewhere (if in Azeroth) and step away from the computer for a couple of minutes.  Get yourself a drink or a snack.  Zombies seem to come in waves.  When the current wave is gone, you should have time to do what you need to do after the NPCs respawn.

My level 1 bank toon in Ironforge has only been zombified one time.  He has had time to do full Auctioneer scans without being interrupted.  Between playing on my three toons I have only turned into a zombie three times total.  So it can’t be as bad as people are making it out to be, if you adjust your play style a bit to adapt to the current situation.

I am looking forward to the next steps in the progression of the event.  Things are always darkest before the dawn…

0 Responses to “Zombie Invasion”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,276,888 hits

