05
May
08

Weekend Report

This weekend was my first ever attempt at 25-man raiding (I never did 40-man raids before BC, either). My impressions can be summed up as: (1) enjoyable, (2) exhausting, (3) expensive, (4) encouraging.

  1. Enjoyable – anything can fun when it goes well. Our guild alliance went in and slapped around High King Maulgar on only our 2nd attempt. Since this was the first try at 25-man raiding for most of our group, that was very exciting. It was a fun, chaotic fight. I have no idea how we pulled it off. As the fight was going on, I saw felhounds running everywhere, and Kiggler (the shaman) was running all over the cave. I guess our healing was awesome. Half the raid was dead when dps moved onto Maulgar, but they were able to keep the tank alive until we finished him off. Fun! I, personally, did not do terribly well. I died to a Whirlwind almost as soon as we switched dps onto Maulgar. 😦 I was top dps at the time that I died. Next time I hope to survive until the end of the fight.
  2. Exhausting – once we moved onto Gruul it became more tedious. That was my first experience with the repetition of “learning a progression boss”. We tried Gruul a couple of times Friday, then many times Saturday. We never killed him (got him to 7%). Doing the same fight over and over again is no fun. On Sunday I actually felt like I wanted a day off of playing WoW, and that’s unusual for me. Just from that small exposure I can immediately see how raiding can burn people out. When I hear stories of guilds wiping on Vashj for months – I couldn’t do it.
  3. Expensive – all those wipes on Gruul… all those consumables. I used easily 150g worth of consumables on those two nights of raiding. Fortunately, I only expect to raid one or two nights a week, so I can easily make that back in a day or two of daily quests. But if this becomes a weekly occurrence it will certainly cut into my gold.
  4. Encouraging – we did get Gruul down to 7%. When you consider the fact that we had a less-than-optimal raid makeup I think we can finish him off. In order to get 25 bodies into the raid we had a prot pally and arms warrior doing dps, along with a rogue still in blues and greens. If we can get geared dps classes in the raid to replace those three, that would account for the last 7% of Gruul’s health.

We’re excited to go back in next Friday. Some are already talking about Magtheridon’s Lair in our future. We definitely have some gearing-up to do… a lot of us need more stamina for survivability. But overall I have to say… WOOT!

P.S. (sorry about the wall of text… wordpress isn’t letting me insert images into the post this morning)

6 Responses to “Weekend Report”


  1. May 5, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    Save on your consumables! If your guild isn’t doing the Ogri’la quests and then using the [Apexis Shards] to buy the Unstable Flasks.

    Grats on Maulgar and getting him down so quickly. That’s awesome.

    Where did your Gruul attempts have the most issues? Shatters? Just not killing him quickly enough before the growths get to be too much?

  2. May 5, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Hi there, good to see yours Gruul went quite good 🙂

    I was chosen to do some dps on our guild’s yesterday SSC run and I must admit, though I died a freaking lot of times due to having the lowest health of all raid, that it was really fun for a first attempt on more than 10-man raid. We downed Lurker after a few tries, so it wasn’t that bad either.

    I would add just one thing to the list (which I consider good otherwise and cannot really argue with it) – “5. Nervous”. I can read all the strategies, watch videos and stuff, but they’re only text and video. Nothing really prepares for the fight other than a Cleave to the face from an add that a tank suddenly taunted his way, or being unable to jump out of the Scalding Water, which happened on our last and successful try 🙂 But anyway, I’m really looking forward to the next raid encounters. Will be sure to try and get more gear before them, so I don’t feel more squishy than the mages.

  3. May 5, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    Congrats on your first 25 man success! That is great! It took my crew more than one try to get HKM down, and more than a few tries over a couple of nights to get Gruul. If you got him to 7% then you can be sure you’ll get him soon. The best we had done was the mid-20s before the attempt that got him.

    Since out first kill, we have not had trouble – it just took those learning attempts to get a critical mass of folks who really understood the how to handle the Shatter, and take that burden off the healers.

    I’m sure you guys will see him down soon. Mag is a fun fight too – not as easy as many are now claiming – but certainly doable for a group having success with HKM and Gruul.

  4. May 5, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    @Valenna – I’ve been getting the Unstable Flasks from the AH. I’ve heard that you can get them from an event in Ogri’La but I haven’t tried it yet. I think it was the Shatters that killed our dps. By about growth 7 our mages were dead and usually our priests and a couple of hunters. And I typically got caught in too many Cave-Ins, although by the last few attempts I had gotten a rhythm of moving back and forth around Gruul to avoid them.

    @Saithir – I thought I would be nervous, but it was so chaotic that I didn’t feel like I was the only one learning the fight. That helped.

    @notcoding – I’m not a burden on the healers, because after growth 8 or so they stop healing the dps and focus on the tanks 🙂 Once we can keep the dps alive a little longer I’m sure that we will have him down.

  5. 5 Aellkynne
    May 5, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    Well, Dinaer, You may not have been nervous, but Dianne and I were REALLY nervous. It’s all we whispered to each other during the “getting ready to go inside” part, and then again in between pulls….That is until we got to Gruul himself…Then I was too busy healing to be nervous. SO I agree with Saithir on number 5. Other than that, I have to agree with you on your other points of our 1st attempt.

  6. May 6, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Definitely pick up the Unstable flasks from Blade’s Edge. They are essentially free flasks and they persist through death. See the link below:

    http://www.wowhead.com/?item=32599

    Gruul is tough on melee but well worth it for the T4 pants and dragonspine.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,271,856 hits

