18
Apr
08

What I bring on a raid

I am hoping that this weekend will bring a chance to raid or do a heroic run. We have basically decided to merge with a larger guild, and the last step is to run with them just to make sure that we can get along with them.

I haven’t done a lot of raiding lately, so I have to restock my raid supplies. Here’s what I’m packing:

  • stack of Deadly Poison
  • stack of Instant Poison
  • stack of Anesthetic Poison in case the tank is not generating enough threat and I am grabbing aggro (this is a habit from a while ago… I haven’t had to use this in a long time)
  • stack of Mind-Numbing Poison, for those occasional caster bosses and mobs that are not immune to it
  • Two stacks of Flash Powder. I’ve never even gone completely through one stack, but its best to be prepared. Although, if I have to Vanish more than 20 times in a raid there are big problems.
  • stack of Spicy Hot Talbuk… I love hit rating.
  • some Golden Fish Sticks, Spicy Crawdad, and Warp Burger. I don’t use these, but I am the guild fisherman and cook so I always have some for our tanks and healers and hunters.
  • Elixirs of Major Agility… as many as my wife the alchemist can make for me.
  • 2-3 Flasks of Relentless Assault… I save these for times that I really need the dps boost, or if some huntard or warlock is out dpsing me 🙂
  • Various armor pieces that form two sets… one that maximizes hit rating and AP for maximum dps, another that sacrifices some dps for stamina in fights where everyone will be taking damage.
  • Elixirs of Demonslaying if we are going into Karazhan.
  • Drums of Battle.
  • At least 15 Super Healing Potions and some other healing items (Volatile Healing Potions, etc…). I have a healing macro that uses one button to go down the entire list of healing items that I could possibly have until it finds one that works.
  • Two stacks of Heavy Netherweave Bandages.

I used to bring sharpening stones for poison-immune mobs, but now nearly everything is susceptible to poison. I also bring some other items if I happen to come across them, like Nightmare Seed, but I don’t go out of my way to get them.

I’m not in front of my WoW-computer while doing this, so the list is all off the top of my head. I may have forgotten something. Anyway, the potions and flasks are the only expensive stuff. All the buff food I catch and make myself. And poisons are cheap enough. So it doesn’t cost me too much to raid. That’s good since I am now just about broke.

4 Responses to “What I bring on a raid”


  1. April 20, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    There’s always scrolls of agility, if you’re a real min-maxer!

    Personally I have a stack of wound poison too; mostly because I use it for pvp, but I’ve been offhanding it on Hex Lord Malacrass when we’re low on interrupt classes.

    (also, I try to have at least 200 flash powder on me – again, pvp 😉

  2. April 21, 2008 at 8:48 am

    I bring Scrolls, but not on a must-have basis. I check the AH on the way to the run. If there are Scrolls there for a reasonable price I’ll grab a couple. Other wise I skip them.

    I do have a stack of Wound Poison in my bag, but its the same stack that has been there for about a year. 🙂

  3. 3 John
    April 23, 2008 at 11:32 am

    I’d be interested in your “Healer” macro.

  4. April 23, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Its pretty basic really. Since all potions share a cooldown, you can list them all from beginning to end in order of preference. The macro uses the first one (if you have it), then cannot use the rest because of the shared cooldown. If you don’t have the first one listed, it will use the second one, etc…

    #showtooltip Super Healing Potion
    /cast Bottled Nethergon Vapor
    /cast Super Healing Potion
    /cast Volatile Healing Potion

    If you carry other healing items that are on a different cooldown, such as Healthstones, Whipper Root, etc.. then they can also be added to the list and they will be used at the same time…

    #showtooltip Super Healing Potion
    /cast Bottled Nethergon Vapor
    /cast Super Healing Potion
    /cast Volatile Healing Potion
    /cast Master Healthstone
    /cast Whipper Root Tuber
    /cast Charged Crystal Focus

    The down side of this is that you can’t use this macro for just a healing potion. This is my OMGHEALZ macro. It uses every form of healing I have all at once. I also have a button assigned just to Super Healing Potion for a smaller heal.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,278,050 hits

