15
Apr
08

WTB sword drops

If there is a chance that I will be moving into 25-man content, I suppose that I should try and maximize the utility of my class. Since the main role of a rogue is sustained DPS, I should try and go into the raid with as much damage potential as possible.

The theorycrafters say that swords are superior to daggers at the moment. I don’t see it personally. I have out-dpsed the sword rogue in my guild on every Kara run. Technique still outweighs gear and, in many cases, spec. I don’t claim to be great, but I am very used to daggers and the attack rotations come naturally. Still, it makes sense to try a sword spec, just to see if there is an immediate difference.

Problem – I have the worst luck with weapon drops. In all the BM runs I did to help guildies get Kara-attuned, I never saw Latro’s Shifting Sword. In the dozens of Mechanar runs I have done I have never gotten the Edge of the Cosmos. I have the Sun Eater, for what its worth, but nothing useful for a dps class. Now I’ve been through Magisters’ Terrace a couple of times, with no Latro’s Dancing Blade drop for me there.

To switch to swords I am faced with buying pricey weapons at the AH. There are not many instance runs in my guild anymore, and I don’t expect my luck with drops to change anyway. I could do some PvP… nah.

So for now I am stuck with daggers. I spent my Badges of Justice on a new dagger, so that’s even more reason to stick with this spec.  Although, I think I have the Reflex Blades sitting in my bank somewhere. Maybe I can spec for fist weapons…

2 Responses to “WTB sword drops”


  1. April 16, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    Grinding battlegrounds is a reliable (if tedious) way of getting some great swords. If you start grinding now, you should have plenty of honor by the time season 4 rolls around and the Merciless swords are available for honor :>

  2. April 17, 2008 at 8:53 am

    I’ve thought about it. But I hate PvP. Really hate it. Really, really hate it.

    So it comes down to the age-old question… it is worth doing something I hate to get an item? Or is the point of the game to have fun, and let the loot drop where it may? (I ran BM again last night… still no Latro’s Shifting Blade. Oh, well.)

    I don’t think I could bring myself to grind honor because I would rather log off and watch TV than do PvP for extended periods of time. Maybe I can just afk in BG… (j/k)


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,272,021 hits

