11
Apr
08

Epic Flying Mount

I have actively avoided buying an epic flying mount so far.

I’ve had the gold for it. I just didn’t want one.

My wife got her epic flyer as soon as she could. She is an Herbalist, and racing quickly from herb to herb makes the farming process much easier for her. I am a skinner, so my profession doesn’t have those travel requirements.

Almost all of my traveling is done via Flight Masters in cities. I’m not questing anymore, so my flying around in the world is limited to going to instances. Basically, its just (1) flying up to Mechanar, Botanica etc.. after a wipe, (2) flying to Coilfang Reservoir to do the instances there, and (2) flying around to do daily quests. So I never thought it was worth it to spend 5000 g on something that I use so rarely.

I probably could have used it when I first dinged 70 and was still running around Netherstorm and Shadowmoon Valley doing quests, but I didn’t have the gold then. With gold rolling in from the Sunwell dailies, it almost seems pointless not to buy it. Its almost like Blizzard is pushing gold at us saying “Please buy one!” And I am worried that at some point in the expansion the epic flyer will be much more important or useful.

So I guess I’ll stop financing the profession leveling on my alts for a while and let my gold build up. I’ll need to get enchantments on the new Badge gear when it’s available. I’ll need to re-gem my current gear as new gem cuts hit the AH. And then, maybe, I’ll get around to buying that epic flying mount.

3 Responses to “Epic Flying Mount”


  1. 1 arb
    April 15, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Ref your Epic mount, don’t forget that it will also help you complete Outland daily quests that much quicker. Don’t underestimate the time you’re wasting flying at 60% speed from Honor Hold to the Throne of Kil’jaeden, or to the western parts of Nagrand, or the north of Blade’s Edge Mountains. How many times have you decided you don’t have time to fit in a couple of quests before a Raid or before bed… or even before work? Even if it’s 2-3 quests per day you’re not doing that’s 200g per week. Make every effort to get your Epic mount as soon as possible – it’ll pay for itself in a surprisingly short time.

  2. April 15, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    I only made the decision to buy the epic mount after the Sunwell dailies came out. It was the fishing daily, the Nagrand daily, and the flight to the Throne of Kil’jaeden that pushed me to decide. My wife zips there in a flash, and then she has to wait for me.

    Before those dailies existed, I spent almost zero time on my own mount.

  3. 3 arb
    April 16, 2008 at 5:37 am

    My miner isn’t 70 yet, but my brother’s is. He will generally use his own mount (plus Crusader aura) in preference to a taxi service, as he can drop down and mine ore veins if he sees them. This way the travel time isn’t totally wasted. If he sees no veins he gets there about as quick as the taxi (if not quicker with some of the more circuitous routes the windrider takes) and if he does then he makes some money on the way. I presume the same could be said of your wife’s herbing.

    Seems like you’ve been through the same through processes anyway – I’ve been fortunate enough to be able to afford an Epic flyer for both my 70s thus far so haven’t had to revisit 60% movement speed (thankfully).


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,278,050 hits

