18
Mar
08

The Family that Plays Together…

I could make a little casual guild just out of my family. Currently, my extended WoW-family group consists of:

  • Me: 70 Rogue, 61 Tankadin
  • My wife: 70 Resto Druid, 60 Frost Mage
  • My younger brother: 70 BM hunter, 60 Resto Shaman
  • My sister-in-law: 70 Warlock, 61 Feral Druid
  • My youngest brother: 70 Prot Warrior, 63 Frost Mage

Also added to this list are:

  • My daughter (11 years old): 25 Hunter, 15 Rogue
  • My mother (can’t give her age here): 25 Druid

And then as auxiliary members:

  • My son (5 years old) who doesn’t have a character, but loves to run around Ironforge on my bank mule character
  • My younger daughter (4 years old) who doesn’t play at all but can pick my wife’s character out of a whole crowd of Night Elves.

My mother is the most interesting case of this group. After my wife and I started playing just after the opening of AQ, my brothers and sister-in-law picked it up as well. After that it seemed that every family gathering just became a live WoW discussion forum. We all live within the same area, so we get together for dinners and holidays and just talk about WoW. My mother was being left out of every conversation.

She eventually started asking questions about the game so that she could follow the discussions that we had. Soon she wanted to watch over my shoulder while I played to see what the game looked like.

After almost two years of this she got a new laptop as a present from my brother, and also received her own copy of WoW and a 10-day game card. We set the game up for her and got her going.

She needed a lot of hand-holding at the start. Going through this made me see how much “game smarts” the designers take for granted. Yes, there are basic instructions in the box for key bindings, commands, and such. But there are a lot of times that my mother would get stuck simply because she had no idea what she was supposed to do. She has zero gaming background. The idea of running around blindly looking for a particular type of wolf that you need to kill for a quest was foreign to her. The thought that some quest items were drops from kills never occurred to her. She wanted detailed instructions, and they were not forthcoming from Blizzard. (Post-BC quests are much more detailed. Early quests were often very vague)

Now, after a couple of months and 25 levels, she is a pretty independent player. She bought one of those game guides from a bookstore and uses that to find her quest items and locations. I introduced her to Thottbot and WoWHead and she alt-tabs over there whenever she needs help.

She is hesitant to talk in guild chat and only plays solo. But she wants me to run her through BFD so that she can see what an instance looks like. Now she is just as likely to initiate WoW conversation as any of us. She is having lots of fun and is very enthusiastic about the game.

The only wild card in my whole family situation is my youngest brother’s “significant other.” She doesn’t like gaming or the fantasy genre. She sometimes resents the time that he spends online. There is no chance of getting her involved in WoW. What if they get married? Should I judge their future together based on her lack of appreciation of Warcraft? [just kidding of course… life > WoW]

0 Responses to “The Family that Plays Together…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,276,888 hits

