16
Mar
08

Alt report: WTB fire resistance

So Derence (tankadin) hit 60 this weekend.  I guess that was a big deal, once upon a time…

We got a group together to go into Ramparts.  This was my first time tanking an instance that was “at my level.”  We went in, and did the first few pulls.  I tanked two or three at a time.  After those pulls, I congratulated our resto shaman on his healing, because my life never went below about 80%.  He told me that he hadn’t even healed me – he was dpsing since I wasn’t taking any damage.

Hey!  This tanking thing is easier than I thought!  (j/k)

We proceeded to blow through Ramparts.  All of us are new to our respective alt toons, so there is a lot of learning going on. I had trouble regaining aggro if a mob got pulled off of me while my taunt was on cooldown.  Our mage tended to sheep mobs who were standing right next to me, so my Consecrate would break the sheep.  But the only wipes were on bad pulls where we got 6 or 8 at once.  Everything was smooth… until Nazan.

I thought he would be easy too.  Then he hit me with his fire breath and took me from 40% to zero in one second.  So we went in and tried again.  Same result.  We tried a few more times, and eventually had to enlist the help of a level 70 druid with more than twice my health to come in and tank him for us.  I could not survive all of that fire damage.

My only fire resistance  is the paladin aura, which gives you 50.  I looked around for other plate armor that has fire resist on it. There is quite a bit that exists in the game, but at my level it is all Molten Core stuff.  I’m not interested in paying huge gold for mats farmed from MC, and I’m also not interested in grinding rep and running BRD over and over to make the Dark Iron armor pieces.

So as of now, this is actually something that I feel I cannot tank.  I am totally new to this tanking thing, so maybe I am missing something.  Suggestions are welcome.

6 Responses to “Alt report: WTB fire resistance”


  1. 1 Elton
    March 16, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Have the shaman drop a fire resist totem for one thing, and don’t go below 40%. You could also bubble through a breath if hes almost dead.
    DISCLAIMER: I don’t actually play ‘real’ WoW (private servers for me), so this comment and future ones may be way off. Also, nice blog 🙂

  2. March 16, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    We tried the totem, and we also had a druid use Gift of the Wild. The resistances did not stack. 😦

    The “stay above 40%” option would have been nice. Unfortunately, my inexperience as a tank was the problem here, I think. Remember that while you are fighting the guy, Vazruden, the dragon is hovering above throwing fire at you. I was trying to kite Vazruden around to avoid the fire pools on the ground, but kept getting out of the healer’s range.

    The other big problem was that the dragon would land and immediately go for the healer despite my attempts to pick him up. I’m sure that we could have done it if I had more tanking experience. But the lack of fire resistance gave me no room for error.

  3. 3 David
    March 17, 2008 at 8:58 am

    There’s no need to kite him around. Just move every time fire lands. Healers need to keep you topped off at all times you cannot afford to be low in case a fire blast hits you. The dragon shouldn’t be a problem, your taunt will be up so just grab him as he runs towards the healers. Make sure to keep him facing away from the party and start the fight right at the ramp’s entrance. Every time he breathes fire just rotate or take a step back, don’t actually kite. This keeps you in healer range.

  4. 4 Jacob
    March 17, 2008 at 9:39 am

    I also had a tough time when I first fought Nazan/Vazruden. It is a tricky fight. The main tips I can give are:

    1) Everyone in the party needs to keep moving out of fires
    2) It helps if the tank knows (approximately) where Vazruden will land, and move to that spot before he lands. He lands roughly in the center of the area. Your healer needs to know that you’ll be running out there.
    3) Keep Vazruden’s breath turned away from your party.
    4) Also keep turning Vazruden in circles, because each time he breathes fire, he drops a fire at your feet as well.

    It can be a lot to keep track of.

    If you have a shaman in your party, grounding totem helps a lot – it will eat up the fireballs that cause the fires.

    If Vazruden lands and goes for your healer, you should be able to taunt him back to you.

  5. March 17, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Grounding totem! Interesting idea. Our shaman is as new to his role as I am to mine. I’ll pass that along to him.

    FYI – our group was the following:
    tankadin (me) – played rogue as main
    resto shaman – played hunter as main
    feral druid – played warlock as main
    frost mage – played resto druid as main
    BM hunter – played rogue as main

    So we are all a little out of our element here. That’s the point, I think.

  6. 6 John
    April 3, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    I had trouble tanking (prot warrior) nazan at 61 too..

    The suggestion above, to slowly rotate him around to stay out of the fire that gets dropped after each breath, keep him turned away from the party did most of the trick.

    Otherwise. Greater Fire resistance potions. They absorb fire damage ( high end ones are 3200-4000!) and really give you a good buffer for the healers.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,276,888 hits

