14
Mar
08

Trapped

TrappedI’m caught in a trap. And I don’t know what to do.

The trap is my guild, and so the trap is largely of my own making.

After our guild breakup back in January, we had a core of 7 good people and solid raiders who stuck together and pledged to try and rebuild. We all felt positive about things at that time.  (our guild is more than 7 people – but other than these 7 the rest are mega-casual and are not online often enough to count on as raiders)

Unfortunately, only one of those people is a healer. As such, we have had a lot of trouble getting anything done. Any runs depend on our one level 70 healer being online and having time.  And even with that we cannot do 10-mans with what we have. Our group is generally PuG-phobic, so given the choice between PuGing an instance or leveling an alt they have chosen to level their alts.

Due to the utter lack of activity, even those who pledged to help rebuild are getting impatient.  One of them left yesterday (to the same guild that has raided all of our other players – I’ll call them the Guild of Evil). The situation is pretty bleak.

It has reached the point that even I have entertained thoughts of moving to another guild (not the Guild of Evil, though).  This is a huge step… I have been in only one guild in my entire WoW life, and I have a very strong personal stake in the guild.

Even if I decided to go, though, I can’t.  I’m trapped in my guild.  Here’s why..

  1. I am the Guild Leader.  If I go, that will almost certainly put the final nail in the coffin for the guild.  It will end up disbanding or becoming essentially inactive.  The remaining friends that I have will likely go with their other friends in the Guild of Evil, which means I will lose contact with them.  Since I have been with this guild for a long, long time, that is a painful thought.
  2. I complained and cajoled several people into staying during the breakup drama.  If I were to leave now that would make me a hypocrite.
  3. I play with my family.  We move as a group.  So I would need to look for a guild that wants a Kara-geared resto druid, rogue, hunter, and warlock, and a slightly undergeared warrior, AND has room for them all to raid.  It won’t be acceptable if we all move to a new guild, but some of us get left out of the runs.  I don’t know if there are other guilds that will take a whole group of five.

Due to this situation, I don’t see myself able to leave the guild.  Since we can’t manage to do Kara or even many heroics, I find myself bored often, and leveling an alt due to a lack of anything better to do.
The only palatable solution is to rebuild the guild.  But that is easier said than done.  We have a ret pally that decided to respec holy and learn to heal for our runs.  That seemed positive, but then we lost a core person yesterday.  One step forward, one bigger step back.

It seems like more time on my tankadin alt is in store.

3 Responses to “Trapped”


  1. March 14, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    I have been there… personally invested in a guild that just wasn’t doing what I needed it to do. I do have a suggestion though… RECRUIT RECRUIT RECRUIT… and recruit raiders… don’t recruit casuals… get people that want to go in and see all of kara and ZA… and before you know it you will have enough people to see SSC and TK… 🙂

  2. March 18, 2008 at 12:53 am

    Have you considered merging with another guild? It might be hard to find a guild that will take all you since you are only contributing 1 healer, but it’s an option.

  3. March 18, 2008 at 7:37 am

    We had talked about merging with another guild a while back (before all of the drama). The guild membership nixed the idea. We were the smaller guild in the proposed merger, and no one wanted our guild to get “swallowed up.” Maybe in light of recent events it would be received differently.

    At the moment we’re looking for another guild that is in a similar situation that we can do join Kara runs with. I have a lead on one. Maybe that will work out.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,271,856 hits

