13
Mar
08

Connection frustration

My wife and I play WoW in the same room.  She sits on a laptop which connects wirelessly to my router.  I play on a desktop that is physically connected to the same router.

Tonigh, she was able to log in immediately.  I got stuck on Connecting, and then given the dreaded “Unable to Connect” message.  After repeated attempts, I was able to connect, but then I could not get into my server, and was redirected to the realm selection screen.  When I restarted WoW, I was stuck at Connecting again.

I guess it can’t be my modem or router since my wife got on with no problem.  And I have internet on the somputer since I am able to make this post.

I am posting on the Technical Support forum, and they are trying to help.  But it seems  futile.  Has anyone encountered this before?  Anyone know a fix?

3 Responses to “Connection frustration”


  1. March 14, 2008 at 9:42 am

    I’ve seen this on my computer (desktop, hard-wired to router), but it generally resolves in a few hours. Typically, it’s when Blizzard is having authentication server issues.

    However, I recently (like, 2 nights ago) had a situation that was a little more involved. It seems my antivirus software (ESET NOD32) doesn’t play well with bit-torrent, which is what Blizzard uses for the background downloader–which, not coincidentally, started downloading stuff for patch 2.4 on Wednesday night).

    So, to get to the point: Try disabling your background downloader first (it’s in the main WoW folder, but I’m not sure of the file name, and I’m not exactly sure how to disable it, but it’s not too complicated).

    If that doesn’t work, turn off your anti-virus and any spyware protection, then try to log in. Now, I’ve had NOD32 for a year, and this is the first time it’s had a problem. The fix was a simple upgrade from version 2.7 to 3.0; there may be a similar conflict occurring for you.

    Hope some of this is helpful…good luck!

  2. 2 kyle
    March 15, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    reset your router and make sure background downloader is off


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,274,258 hits

