12
Mar
08

In response to Badge Gear rants

badge.jpgI have read a number of blogs and forum threads these past few weeks lamenting the fact that “casuals” will be able to get T6-level gear through Badge of Justice vendors.

Ridiculous.

I know its ridiculous because I am that casual player. I have one character at level 70, not four or six or more. I play most evenings but only for about two hours at a time. I have been in Karazhan many times, but I have never done a full clear. I am in a guild that has no chance of ever mustering 25 people to go to Gruul’s Lair. I play as much (or more) for the social aspects of the game as I do for the raids and loot. I would not jump to a progression guild because I don’t want to abandon the friends that I have in my current guild.

While there are all different types of “casual” players out there, I feel that I represent a fairly typical casual raiding WoW player.

And I have no chance of ever buying that Badge Gear.

The raiding elite seems to think that players like me are going to come up with enough Badges to deck ourselves out in the same type of gear that they have earned by grinding their way through Hyjal and Black Temple. Outrageous! It’s taken me over a month to accumulate 50 Badges for my Searing Sunblade. At 100 Badges for a chest piece and 105 Badges for a one-hand weapon, I have as much chance of getting those as I do of soloing Illidan.

Is that just me? Or is it the majority of casual players? WoWJutsu has catalogued 2.3 million US and European characters who have been in Karazhan, but that figure is inflated since it includes all toons in all Kara-running guilds, as well as alts, etc… Tobold used these numbers and estimated that less than 1/3 of the players in US and Europe have been in Kara, and far fewer have actually cleared it. If you’re not clearing Kara, you’re not likely to get enough Badges for a set of T6-level gear. One piece? Maybe. A whole set? No way.

So lighten up, raiding elite. I’m not going to crash your T6 party, and neither are the majority of players in the game. By the time I can amass enough Badges to buy even one of the new items, the expansion will come out and all pre-WotLK gear will be forgotten.

4 Responses to “In response to Badge Gear rants”


  1. 1 Rishkkin
    March 12, 2008 at 8:24 am

    So friggin true, I’m in the same boat as you.

    I have collected so far an amazing 14 badges, this over the last 3 months, at that rate I’ll be able to be fully equipped in T6 equivalent gear in about 2.5 years… Just in time to meet with the shiny new T9 gear that will be available by that time.

  2. 2 amarokshadow
    March 13, 2008 at 10:50 am

    I don’t know, I raid very casually and in a month I’ve gotten 70 badges through kara and a couple daily quest heroics. Even so, theres only 2-3 actual T6 level pieces for each class and if the people wearing them can’t actually do Hyjal/BT I don’t know why its a threat to the “hardcore raiders”

  3. March 14, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Amen to that! My WoW schedule is pretty similar to yours, and there is no way in the world I will be getting my hands on more than one (maybe two) of those pieces of gear anytime in the next year!

  4. June 6, 2008 at 8:51 am

    Tbh, badges is easy to come by.

    I’m a very casual player, maybe a few hours one day, no hours the other. But in 100% welfare epics atm (except the head and gloves t4)

    But as soon as u have moderately gear spamming heroics is a piss take

    Mech 4 badges, 30 minutes
    Bot 5 badges, 45 minutes
    SP 3 badges, 30 minutes

    If one is daily add 2 =)

    thats 14 badges for 2 hours work (including getting to the instance)


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,276,888 hits

