28
Jan
08

Consider me Educated

I do not consider myself to be a great player. I do research obsessively on the internet until I know everything I need about a subject. That doesn’t always translate into in-game performance, though. (darn fingers! won’t do what WoWWiki said to do!)

I leveled my rogue from 1-60 in a mostly subtlety build. I did this despite the fact that I never do PvP. Why? Because it was fun. I was called a noob by other rogues during all that time… but I wasn’t raiding so there was no particular drive to max out damage.

Understand that I knew that I could do more damage in a combat build. I just didn’t want to be the same cookie-cutter rogue as everyone else.

After BC I respecced to Mutilate. I loved that build. The combo point generation allowed me to micromanage my attacks. It seemed that whatever special attack I wanted to use, I had the combo points to do it. Loved it. LOVED IT.

When I finally started raiding into Kara I was always at the top of the damage charts. By a lot. Then by less. Then by not so much. Then, our BM hunter passed me. Then our other BM hunter passed me. (note that they were both survival until recently. Darn BRK!) We are a casual guild, so my spec was never questioned. I was still having fun, but I felt like I was underperforming. In Kara I can’t sap, so my only purpose is DPS.

So…

I changed to Combat Daggers. I must the first rogue EVER to make it all the way to 70 without trying a combat build at all.

Immediately my damage shot through the roof. I increased by almost 100 dps just from the respec, and I am certain that I am not getting the most from the build since it is so new. More energy, less combo points. Must remember to use AR. Must remember to use BF. Must use Rupture, but still have enough combo points to keep SnD going. I think its less fun than Mutilate, but the results are worth it.

So this causes me to question not only myself, but others as well.  Last night we took our first shot at Prince and got him to 1% before respawns and the end of the night’s raiding.  If even one other player is running with a less-than-optimal build, that could have made the difference.  Is it worth it to enforce certain builds for raiding.

I still say no.  But I also wish we had killed Prince and gotten that nice T4 helm.

0 Responses to “Consider me Educated”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 100 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 92 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 100 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 100 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
January 2008
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,274,959 hits

