14
Aug
14

10 Years :: 10 Questions

Whoa – 4 months since my last post.  I’m not dead, I haven’t unsubscribed.  My playtime is drastically decreased.  The upcoming expansion has me a little excited.  My wife wants to pick up the game again, and perhaps playing together will provide that boost of fun that I need.

Anyway, here’s what dragged me back to the blog. This survey has been making the rounds of the blogosphere.  I figure I can add my stories, if there’s anyone still reading.

 

1. Why did you start playing Warcraft?

I have always been into both the fantasy genre and computer technology.  I remember when I was young, reading the Dream Park novels by Larry Niven, about a live-action RPG set in a virtual reality world, and wishing that such a thing were possible.  When Everquest came out in the late 90’s it seemed like we were getting close to my ideal game.  However, in the 90’s I had a young child and a new career, so I consciously opted not to start an MMO.  I did play Warcraft I and Starcraft avidly, and then some Warcraft II.

When World of Warcraft was announced, it seemed perfect – my kind of game in a favorite setting.  Still, I wasn’t sure if it fit into my life.  I ran the idea by my wife, and she agreed to allow me to play if we could play together.  Thus we both started at the same time, as did both of my brothers and my sister-in-law.  We started in March of 2006, so we haven’t quite been in the game for 10 years yet.  Out of that original group of five, I am the only one still active.

 

2. What was the first ever character you rolled?

It was Dinaer, my night elf rogue that is still my main to this day.

 

3. Which factors determined your faction choice in game?

That was all my wife.  Part of our agreement when we started the game together was that she got to pick our race.  She liked the night elves, and so we started with the Alliance.

If I had my choice, I still probably would have gone with Alliance.  At the time, I wanted to play the “good guys” in my games.

 

4. What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why?

Too many to narrow it to one!

I distinctly remember being taken into my first raid – 10 man UBRS back in vanilla.  There was a rogue there named Devon who was whispering me tips and techniques on rogue play – stealthing, sapping, and attacking.  I can probably credit my success as a rogue to him.

My most memorable guild-related moment was killing the first boss in Karazhan.  We were not a raiding guild when BC came out, and Karazhan was the most fun I have ever had in the game.  It took over a month of attempts before we could kill Attumen, and boy were we excited!

My most memorable rogue moment was evasion-tanking Prince Malchezzar in Kara and soloing his last 1% for our kill.  Nerf rogues.

 

5. What is your favourite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?

This has changed a lot over the years.  At one time it was leveling.  Later it was professions.  Then it was the gold-making minigame. Now its the social aspect.  I’ve been in the same guild with the same core group since late vanilla/early BC.  If I didn’t have them, I’m not sure that I would still be playing.

 

6. Do you have an area in game that you always return to?

Well, Stormwind is the easy answer.  Other than that, not really.  I like variety.  Each time I level and alt I try to hit different zones and follow a different path than the last time I leveled.

 

7. How long have you /played and has that been continuous?

I have played for over 8 years, and I have never gone more than two weeks without logging on.

 

8. Admit it: do you read quest text or not?

Every. Single. One.

In fact, it bugs me that Blizzard has made questing too easy.  The objectives are marked on the minimap, the quest items sparkle in the game.  The fact that you can complete quests without having any idea what you are doing is bothersome to me.

 

9. Are there any regrets from your time in game?

I regret some of the mistakes I made as guild leader.  To this day, I sometimes agonize over people who have left the guild over the way I mishandled their situation.  I can list all of their names, even though I have not seen nor heard from some of them for 5-6 years.

Also – not a regret, but a missed opportunity – I wish I had tried to join a hardcore guild at some point.  I’m a pretty good rogue, but I don’t think I’m a great rogue.  I would have liked a chance to run with the big boys and see if I could step up my game.  I never tried because of my unwavering loyalty to my own guild.

 

10. What effect has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming? 

I hate to admit it, but I think it has made me a worse parent than I would have been otherwise.  Not that I ignore my kids, and I’m not a bad parent, but there are certainly weekends and evenings where our family stayed home because I had a raid scheduled.  That is a lot of missed chances for family time.

On the positive side, I have made some really great friends through the game.  Even though I’ll never meet most of them face-to-face, I consider them as close as any friends I have ever had.

1 Response to “10 Years :: 10 Questions”


  1. August 26, 2014 at 7:27 am

    Oh my gosh it’s alive! I still check up on you every so often for a bit of rogue post gold. Thanks for sharing this with us, might be fun to try myself sometime :)


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,215,266 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

