03
Apr
13

Are PvE rogues all the same spec now?

Look up and down the top dps parses for rogues.  Lots of assassination rogues tearing it up.  Nary a combat rogue to be found (no subtlety either, but that’s old news).

Recently my guild has been working on Garalon.  This is the quintessential cleave fight.  You target a leg and get a crit buff for doing so, and your cleave hits the boss.  When the leg dies, its damage is transferred to the boss, so all cleave damage is pure bonus.

At the start of MoP, combat rogues were putting up obscene numbers on this fight.  Patch 5.2 brought the big change – making the cleave do only 40% weapon damage (down from 100%) but affecting more targets.  Sure, it was a needed fix to a balance problem.  However, it has perhaps gone too far.

All the theorycrafters have emphasized that Blade Flurry is still a plus whenever you have two or more targets in proximity (and its effect increases for three or four targets).  Since Garalon has been the Combat Spec Fight in this tier, I completely regemmed and reforged for combat when we got to this boss.

After a number of tries and lots of practice, I was frustrated with my sub-par dps numbers.  So, this week I switched back to assassination.  Immediately, I gained nearly 20k dps without using any cleave.

Currently, I don’t see any reason to spec combat in raids.  Assassination is so far superior its not really even a discussion.  Since subtlety has again fallen out of use in PvE, I guess that means that all raiding rogues are or will be assassination spec.  World of Logs reports bear this out.  While there are still combat rogues out there, it looks like that spec is around 40k dps behind assassination in ToT raids.

Having specs a little unbalanced is routine and almost expected.  If two specs are producing numbers that are 5% apart, then you can justify using either one based on familiarity or gear or just preference.  However, if one spec is 20% ahead, as it is now, then its almost impossible to justify not using the top spec.

Until this is addressed (and it will be), I expect to see just about all raiding rogues in assassination spec.  That’s a shame – especially in a pure dps class.  I look forward to seeing how Blizzard balances things.

6 Responses to “Are PvE rogues all the same spec now?”


  1. 1 pitrelli
    April 3, 2013 at 8:53 am

    Having just returned to wow from a massive break I’ve rerolled my rogue (only level 40 atm) and am trying out combat for the first time and I’m loving it. Sucks to hear its not viable at endgame but hey I’m stubborn and love fist weapons and killing spree so I guess I better hope they implement change before I hit 90 :)

  2. April 3, 2013 at 9:45 am

    When comparing world of logs, beware the bandwagon effect – if in reality, assassination is 5% ahead, but all the best players know it and go assassination, the numbers you see for combat are only the players that don’t care about their numbers enough to switch. For example, Blizz nerfed fire and didn’t touch arcane, but a month later arcane was higher than it used to be, simply because all the best players switched to it and brought up its numbers.

    • April 3, 2013 at 10:13 am

      I’m not sure. My personal single-target dps with assassination is much more than 5% higher than with combat. I’ll admit that I’m much more practiced with assassination, but I’m normally not a slouch with combat.

      Also, I’m looking at WoL parses of top guilds. I doubt there are many players there who don’t care about their numbers.

      Its possible that you are right, but my personal observations say otherwise.

  3. 5 Beckett
    May 14, 2013 at 1:44 am

    Considering pure theorycrafting sub does not seem to be that much off… shadowcraft gives me almost equal numbers when comparing with assasination. In a patchwerk fight I do about 5% less damage with sub what seems to be quite a good deal as I was raiding with assa all the time until yesterday…


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,199,345 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

