12
Mar
13

Rogues in patch 5.2

How patch 5.2 going for everyone?

This is my busiest time of year in my life outside the game.  My son’s baseball season is in full swing.  My work responsibilities are more significant in this part of the year than during other seasons.  I can barely find time to sit at my desk at home.

I’ve logged on enough to do the Isle of Thunder dailies once and have two nights of raiding in MSV and HoF.  That’s all the time I’ve spent in WoW so far since the patch.  I had to figure out a lot of changes by trial and error since I have not had time to keep up with them.

Right away in MSV, I noticed that my Combat spec did less damage than normal on Stone Guard.  That’s because of the change to Blade Flurry in the patch.  It now hits for less damage, but affects more targets.  On Stone Guard, when you’re hitting two or three dogs, you’re not getting the most out of Blade Flurry.  Damage is good, but not as spectacular as it once was.

I also noticed that my single target damage in Assassination spec was a little higher, but not much.  Assassination got buffed a bit in the patch.  I hear that Subtlety got a small buff as well.  I expect Blizzard to keep giving us small buffs until more people play rogues.  For those of us who still play our rogue mains, it just makes us that much more awesome.  However, I will also note that I wasn’t as far ahead on the damage meters as I usually am on some MSV fights, like Elegon.  I suspect that other classes got buffed as well, and maybe more than we did.

I was really surprised when I went to use Ambush as an opener and I teleported to directly behind the target without using Shadowstep.  That’s when I remembered that there were talent changes in the patch.  Preparation was removed as a talent, and now all rogues have it as a baseline ability at level 68.  Instead they added Cloak and Dagger in Prep’s old spot on the talent tree.  It works like Shadowstep built into your stealthed openers.  It essentially gives your openers a 30 yard range.

A change that I noticed while I was fighting Elegon was for Cloak of Shadows.  It now has a shorter cooldown (1 minute), but its no longer reset by Preparation.  That surprised me.  I usually use Cloak-Prep-Cloak to mitigate damage at the end of the fight when we’re burning Elegon down.  Didn’t work this time.

I was, as usual, dismayed when our raid got to Will of the Emperor.  I don’t like that fight.  At some point in that fight, I always end up far from my target with Vanish and Sprint on cooldown.  This time I specced into Shuriken Toss.  This gave combo points and also made my autoattacks into ranged shuriken throws.  I don’t think it was very effective, but it was fun.

Also on the Will of the Emperor fight, when we all grouped up to AoE heal through the Titan Gas phases, I threw down my Smoke Bomb.  It was just given a new ability – reducing incoming damage by 20% on everyone in its range.  I have a defensive raid cooldown!  That felt good.

There’s another talent change that I tried.  Versatility was removed as a top-tier talent and replaced with Marked for Death.  This gives 5 combo points to start with on the fight, so its much like the Premeditation ability on steroids.  A major difference is that when your target dies, Marked for Death resets.  That makes this good for burst damage in target-switching situations, since you can start with 5 CP on each new target.  Its not useful on most boss fight in PvE, but good in fights with a lot of adds that need to be bursted down.  That said, I tried to use it on Garalon’s legs, and the cooldown never reset when a leg died.  Is it because the legs don’t really “die”?  Is this a bug?  (not Garalon himself, but the lack of cooldown reset).

Most of the changes were not very noteworthy, although a lot of rogues are affected by the alterations to the talent tree.  The Smoke Bomb change is nice – I wonder how long it will take everyone to realize that it is there, so that raid leaders call for it at times of high incoming damage.

2 Responses to “Rogues in patch 5.2”


  1. 1 BenDover
    March 18, 2013 at 1:24 pm

    Marked for Death is just glorious when there’s lots of target swapping, in AE situations and especially good for questing and Soloing stuff. You can get up Recuperate very fast when going for Elite Mobs, and it gives great burst especially against multiple mobs. Coupled with the Glyph of Deadly Momentum you’ll be going through mobs like a hot knife through butter.

    Blade Flurry should scale really well now, while being better balanced against the other specs for cleave fights. The spec still won’t actually be using FoK nor Crimson Tempest.

    I feel Shadowstep is still the best talent of the tier, just because it gives you the most options. Cloak and Dagger is too reliant on CDs, and Sub is the only spec that has reliable access to it, due to Shadow Dance. I like the concept, but feel it’s a Sub-only ability, not fitting as a talent as is.

    Haven’t had a chance to do much with Shuriken Toss and Deadly Throw, but they should help in PvP quite a bit, even if Rogues still have relatively low survivability. I just feel the class is at an odd place for PvP: it feels a bit too much like a ranged class now, due to mobility and survivability issues, and countering that with high ranged damage. For a melee class, you gotta admit, that’s a bit weird.

    Overall though, I’m enjoying the class more now, than at the start of Mists. Still needs work, but then again, always does. It’s nice to see we’re getting attention again. Hope this trend continues.

    • April 2, 2013 at 11:20 am

      I *love* Marked for Death when I’m in combat spec.

      Unfortunately, I won’t see much reason to go Combat anymore. Since the Blade Flurry fix, even gimmick fights don’t prop the spec up.

      I went Combat for Garalon – previously the poster child for cleaves. My dps was almost 20k lower then when I did the same fight in Assassination spec.

      I don’t foresee any situation where I’ll spec back to combat.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,200,299 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

