18
Dec
12

LFR

Two and a half months into the expansion, I finally ran LFR for the first time.  I ran on my resto druid because that is who I am raiding on, currently.  Just did the first three bosses in Mogu’shan Vaults.

It is a cakewalk, but not a total faceroll because a lot of people don’t know the fights.  Our LFR group didn’t explain the fights to anyone.  The tanks just ran up and pulled.  For the first fight, that was not a problem.  Everyone can clearly see stuff not to stand in.  On the second fight, it was a little tougher as people didn’t know what to do when they got the fire debuff.  The third boss actually caused a wipe, as no one knew to go into the spirit realm.

My druid healing is not great these days.  The priest and paladin in the raid totally blew away my healing numbers.  I can’t tell if its me or the class – I’ve heard people saying that druid healers are not too effective right now.

The loot system was disappointing.  On all three fights, all I got was a bag of gold.  I would prefer to see what dropped so I had some sense of closure on the boss.  That’s the way boss fights go – we show up, we do our thing for five minutes, then the boss dies and there is epic loot.  Without the loot at the end, it seems so anticlimactic.

So I got nothing from my run, and I didn’t see what other people got.  This does not inspire me with excitement to go back again.  I guess I will, but not with any real excitement.

7 Responses to “LFR”


  1. 1 Baerli
    December 18, 2012 at 6:54 pm

    Don’t sweat the druid numbers in LFR, druids need time to work, with all the overhealing happening in LFR (e.g. too many healers for too little damage) druids are somewhat wasted.

  2. 2 lazybasterd
    December 18, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    “So I got nothing from my run…”

    Well that’s not entirely true. You got 90 Valor Points and just under 90 gold.

    Is it a letdown to not get any phat loot? Hell yes and I grumble about it everytime that bag pops up. Would time be better spent in a ‘real’ raid or doing dailies? Possilby. But it’s not time wasted.

    • December 18, 2012 at 9:10 pm

      Good point. Gold I don’t need. Valor points are nice, although I can’t use on this character because I’m not grinding rep on my alts right now.

      I still feel like the fights feel anticlimactic without seeing loot windows, even if I end up getting no loot.

  3. 4 Deavande
    December 20, 2012 at 10:44 am

    Better get use to it. In my experience you will see the bag a lot more then loot.

  4. December 20, 2012 at 10:53 am

    You can always up your chance for loot by collecting Elder Charms of good fortune. You can use one on the Boss that has the item you want. I have gotten several nice upgrades during normal MSV and LFR doing this.

    • December 22, 2012 at 11:02 am

      Excellent point. I forget about that because I’ve been raiding on an alt.

      I have been slowly working my way through dailies on my main, but I can’t bring myself to do that same grind on alts. My alt – who is my current raiding toon – has only about 35 Lesser Charms.

      I’ll use that strategy on my main, who has lots.

  5. 7 BenDover
    December 22, 2012 at 11:15 am

    “So I got nothing from my run, and I didn’t see what other people got. This does not inspire me with excitement to go back again. I guess I will, but not with any real excitement.”

    This isn’t a perfect loot system, for sure, but I think it’s still better than what we had. It simply took away all loot drama, by removing that issue. We aren’t rolling against other players, but against the game. Even in the old system, you weren’t guaranteed any drops. I spent a lot of time watching nothing interesting drop, or in the odd cases where something I wanted did drop it went to someone else. To me that was rather discouraging, especially since I was just pugging with strangers I would probably never see again. I don’t really care what loot they got, I was after my own drops.

    Now, getting gold is kinda meh, as well. It’s not something you really notice. I don’t think upping that gold would actually make things any better either. I’d rather have some lucrative vendor trash drop, with some funny flavor text attached to it. Maybe they could come up with fun little cosmetic consolation prizes. I’m making this up as I go, so bear with me.

    So, you kill the boss and you roll for loot. You don’t get anything. You throw in a coin, and still get nothing. If you don’t get any loot, than the game rolls again for you from a totally different loot table. This one would have transmog items, battle pets, toys and so on. Of course, even this roll needs to be RNG, but certain items there could have a higher chance of dropping than others… I dunno, maybe this wouldn’t fix the feeling of being let down by drops, but just wanted to throw that into the cauldron of speculation, see if it brews into something.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,209,739 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

