10
Sep
12

Crazy Assassination Damage

I suspect there may be some nerfs incoming for assassination rogues.

Why?  Let me show you.

Background… I haven’t played my rogue in months.  We’re short of healers, so I have raided exclusively on my resto druid for the past few months.  When patch 5.0.4 dropped, I read up on the changes to my rogue but didn’t get a chance to try them out in the game.  They weren’t major changes, in any case.

This weekend I finally got to raid DS on my rogue.  I had not spent any time on a target dummy in advance, so I was a little nervous going in that I would mess things up.

This is the parse from heroic Ultraxion…

Its not the damage totals that are important.  Its the percentages.  That rogue below me is combat spec.  (he doesn’t have the legendary daggers yet – he has the stage 2 epics).

The assassination damage was crazy.  The legendary daggers proc all the time.  I got the Fury of the Destroyer buff from the daggers 7 times during the 4:44 fight.

As we start to level, the effect of the legendary dagger procs will go away once we replace them with MoP gear.  Still, my damage output on this fight was 50% higher than anyone else in the raid.  I’m not 50% better than the other players who were there, and I was not this far ahead before the patch.  While not shown, my damage total for the entire raid was similarly unbalanced (30% higher than the next best dps, even including fights that favor ranged).  Something here is out of whack.  When there’s that much disparity this early in the expansion process, experience tells me that it usually leads to some nerfs down the line.

Enjoy it while it lasts, my rogue friends.

6 Responses to “Crazy Assassination Damage”


  1. 1 BenDover
    September 10, 2012 at 11:13 am

    I wouldn’t worry about any nerfs. The reason why Assassination is doing so well with the Fangs has to do with the changes to Poisons and proc rates to Shadows of the Destroyer. Since Poisons are now on the Melee Hit table, we are having more Poison procs, and Fury of the Destroyer is also proccing a lot more often now, which allows for some insane Envenoms and Crimson Tempests as well.

    Basically, all they needed to do to make the daggers actually feel legendary was adjust the proc rates. They were very strong already, but probably not at the levels of Dragonwrath or Shadowmourne (relatively more common, though). In 2 weeks time though this will all be a memory. By the time we hit lv90 those of us who actually have the Fangs (and honestly, the number of people who have the final stage daggers is a lot less than what many would have you believe) will be shelving them in the bank and reminiscing about the daggers that were almost legendary when they were relevant.

    That’s not to say they ain’t OP for the current pre-expansion times, just that it doesn’t matter since the game is already balanced around lv90 and we’ve only got 2 weeks of this.

    • September 10, 2012 at 11:23 am

      I think that my high damage output was from more than just the Fangs procs. My total Fury of the Destroyer uptime was 14% of the fight. There’s no way that gave me a 50% damage boost.

      I haven’t played to level 90 in beta, so I’m hoping that this evens out by then.

      • 3 Falkiendmg
        September 11, 2012 at 8:14 am

        What was your rotation? Kept SnD and Rupture up all the time and Evenon to death? Also, what was your reforge priority? Hit and Expertise capd, then mastery > haste > crit?

        Thanks,

      • September 13, 2012 at 6:13 pm

        I reforged to hit cap and almost to the expertise cap. I was actually a little over the soft hit cap and a little under the expertise cap. Left the rest the same as pre-patch… mastery > haste > crit.

        Kept SnD and Rupture up, hit Dispatch whenever I got a proc. Envenom at 4-5 CP. Below 35% go crazy with Dispatch.

        Did almost no AoE. With the 35% nerf, trash dies too fast to effectively test Crimson Tempest.

      • 5 BenDover
        September 14, 2012 at 2:56 pm

        You know, this all makes me wonder… CT should be more damage per Energy than Eviscerate for the other specs. If the same holds true for Assassination with Envenom, then wouldn’t using CT be a DPS increase even on ST fights? I know it doesn’t proc Venomous Wounds, but theoretically our new AE Finisher could provide meaningful ST damage. If this is true, I’m pretty sure it’s not intended. Interesting to speculate, though. Hopefully someone will theorycraft this at some point.

  2. 6 maf1
    September 10, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    this -> “the game is already balanced around lv90″ ;-)


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,186,143 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

