16
May
12

Giving Diablo 3 a shot

I actually played Diablo 3 for about an hour last night.

This is both a big deal and no big deal, from different perspectives.

Its a big deal because I am not a gamer, in the traditional sense.  I don’t play lots of games.  I don’t have time.  I play WoW, and that’s the only video game I have played with any regularity for the past 6 years.  For any game to convince me to try it is a big step.

However, its not a big deal because I didn’t pay for D3.  I got the WoW annual pass, so D3 came with the package.  Therefore, there is no investment involved in playing D3.  No risk.

On the other hand, its somewhat notable because I hated Diablo 2.  Way back in the late 1990s I had played the original Diablo, and I got Diablo 2 the first week it was out in 2000.  I played it for an hour, and that’s all it took to convince me to uninstall it.  I really thought I was done with the whole franchise.

After an hour with D3, its got me involved enough that I plan to play it more.  I have no intention of going all hardcore on it.  I don’t intend to make millions on their real money auction house.  I’m not going to fly through the storyline.  However, based on my first impression it has earned a share of my leisure time.

3 Responses to “Giving Diablo 3 a shot”


  1. 1 George
    May 18, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    Would you have a guest pass to spare by chance ?

  2. 3 Cris
    May 19, 2012 at 3:03 am

    Since all (raiders) of my guildies are playing in D3 and we don’t raid DS anymore. I guess i’ll stick with the new game until MoP is released.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,186,102 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

