04
May
12

Legendary daggers… check

As you can tell from my previous post, I’ve completed the legendary daggers, Golad, Twilight of Aspects and Tiriosh, Nightmare of Ages.

I made a post back on December 14th, 2011 saying that I had done the Assassinate Creed stage of the questline.  Since then, it has taken me twenty weeks of Dragon Soul runs (plus one stealth run in the basement of Karazhan) to complete the questline.

This is the first time that someone in my guild has completed a legendary since Blizzard implemented the collection/grind model back in Ulduar.  We never got the Ulduar legendary or the ICC legendary.  We have someone pretty close to the Firelands staff, and I just got the daggers.

I think the whole experience was pretty fun.  The two class-specific assassination quests were interesting and challenging.  They definitely made the whole effort worthwhile.  I’m glad that I got to do that content, and its a shame that more classes don’t get to see it.

The collecting was… meh.  However, I have nothing to compare this to.  I don’t know what kind of perseverance it took to get the rare legendaries back in the Molten Core days, so I can’t tell you how this compares.  Getting a few pieces each week makes you feel like you’re progressing, unlike the MC days when you would go months (or longer) without seeing the one drop that you needed.

But I don’t feel legendary.  I’ve never done a single heroic mode fight.  We didn’t get Deathwing down until after the first nerf.  I don’t have most of the achievements related to the Dragon Soul boss fights.  Do I really feel like I deserve this?

How exciting was it?  Right after the raid, when everyone knew I was flying to Hillsbrad to turn in the quest, half of my raid team logged off for the night rather than wait the extra ten minutes to see the guild achievement pop.  That hints that the excitement of the accomplishment was gone.

Look, I’m definitely excited.  I’m not going to turn it down.  Still, I have to say that I think legendaries should be more rare.  I think legendaries should be something that you wear and people stop and stare, or say in guild chat, “Hey, there’s a guy in SW with the legendary Sword of Uberness!  Come see!”  Instead, I got my legendary by grinding through a nerfed normal-mode raid for twenty weeks.  It feels… cheapened.

But I’m slowfalling whenever the cooldown is up.  I’m even putting together a Batman-ish transmogging set.  Yay!

1 Response to “Legendary daggers… check”


  1. May 9, 2012 at 12:06 am

    Congratulations! “Cheapened” or not, it’s one hell of an accomplishment; one that probably won’t be achieved by most due to the grind and need to focus on something for more than 2 weeks.
    In other words, the kids don’t get it. :)

    Again, congrats.
    D


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,187,121 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

