02
Mar
12

Slowly Getting There

As all rogues recall, Patch 4.3 was released in late November of 2011 with great fanfare.  With the release of the patch, came the questline to get the legendary daggers.

Every rogue worth his stealth did the opening steps of the questline in the first few days.  Then you had to get to Hagara and pickpocket her, then do the wonderful stealth run through Gilneas City.  A lot of us who play a rogue as our main had all of that done within a couple of weeks of the patch, and we had earned our first stage epic daggers – Fear and Vengeance.

Then came Cluster Clutch – the collecting quest in the Dragon Soul raid.  It cannot be completed in LFR so the rate that you finish this is based on how many bosses you can kill each week on normal or heroic difficulty.  This is where the hardcore raiders can pull ahead of the rest of the rogues.

At an average of about 6 Shadowy Gems per boss kill (assuming 10-man raids) this quest required you to be there for about 56 kills.

I’m happy to say that I completed this quest tonight.  It took me nearly three months.  My casual guild has not been doing full clears each week, so my progress has been steady but not rapid. In fact, we just got our first Deathwing kill on normal tonight, so it was a double-bonus for me.

I’m curious where other rogues are.  I think that a lot of them just got their first stage daggers and called it a success at that point, with no intention of moving on to later stages.  Then I think that many other rogues want to keep moving forward, but the mid-expansion lull may bring them to a halt as they have trouble forming raid groups.

This weekend I expect to do the next stealth run (near Karazhan) and hopefully get my next-stage daggers.

So, where are you in the questline?

3 Responses to “Slowly Getting There”


  1. 1 Zeenaa
    March 2, 2012 at 8:38 am

    I’m progressing casually as well. My guild is pretty much deserted right now except for a couple others. I run raids with another guild I’m friends with and they bring me in as a filler DPS. Right now I stand at 159/333 ..slowly and eventually getting there….. Congrats on completing that part!

  2. 2 Marek
    March 2, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    Same here, I’m right around 130/333, so it’s slow going. I really wish we could get them in LFR….I’ll probably finish up the grind and get them in MoP at some point.

    – Marek

  3. 3 Slink
    March 2, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    As a guild we’ve made steady progress on 10-man. We had our first heroic attempts this week, alas unsuccessful, but then proceded to clear the instance in 1h:40m. In theory, 8 gems a week should be straightforward from here.

    I’m currently sitting at 15/60, so another 6 weeks to go!!


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,215,052 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

