22
Aug
11

Which rogue gear will you transmogrify to?

In the next patch (which is likely several months off) we’re getting Transmogrification.  Besides that being a great word, its an interesting feature.  This will allow us to change the look of our armor.  You can re-skin your armor to look like any other armor that you currently have/own.

Do you still have the old Nightslayer set  setting in your bank?  The one with the boob shoulders?  Well with Transmogrification you’ll be able to make your T12 look like Nightslayer Armor, if that’s what you want.

First – I want to say that I don’t really like this feature.  I have always enjoyed the fact that you can look at someone’s armor and be impressed by pieces you have never seen.  You can often get a feel of a player’s progression by the epic-ness of their appearance.   This will change that, and that makes me a little sad.

I have two full bags of old tier pieces and other memorable items in my bank.  Time to sort them and see what I am missing.

With that in mind, which armor will you walk around in?  Will you go back and farm old sets to get the look you want?

16 Responses to “Which rogue gear will you transmogrify to?”


  1. 1 Bumblebee
    August 23, 2011 at 5:42 am

    “I have always enjoyed the fact that you can look at someone’s armor and be impressed by pieces you have never seen. You can often get a feel of a player’s progression by the epic-ness of their appearance.”

    Kinda have to disagree here. Since LK we’ve been seeing characters looking like clones. Only way to get a feel of their progression was to inspect them, and see if they’ve got the Heroic-stamp, or the normal ones. Other than that, everybody has been looking more or less the same since Wrath. This feature is long overdue, tbh.

    While I appreciate having finally the option of getting my character have a specific look, I think mogging could have a larger psychological impact on the game community. Anyone mogging their gear will have done so on purpose. This means, players will get a choice to express their individuality within the game. It’s harder to not treat someone as a person, if they aren’t copies of NPCs or clones of a thousand other players.

  2. 2 Zeenaa
    August 23, 2011 at 7:22 am

    I’ve always liked Bloodfang and Bonescythe Tier 2 and 3. I collected Bloodfang a while back to wear for kicks in Dalaran but had to get rid of it in favor of needed bag space. I love the look of Bonescythe and wold love to bring it back but don’t know if that’s possible. Bonescythe pieces dropped from the bosses of pre LK Naxxramas didn’t they?

  3. 3 romanchance
    August 23, 2011 at 10:41 am

    I have been under the impression since Wrath that Blizzard is on a quest to see how many different shades of brown they can personally invent.

  4. 5 Roguehard
    August 26, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    I will be using the heroic T8 :) I loved those whiplash shoulders

  5. August 28, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    I’ve been farming MC for bits and pieces (I think i’ve seen 3 full sets of warrior gear now, lol). Once again, I find that with nearly all the sets, I yearn for a “Show Shoulders” option in the interface so I can turn them off… Sigh.
    I would like to collect the Bloodfang set, but unlike MC, you can’t solo BWL thanks to the stupid eggs.
    Of course, I’ll be steadily farming for Twin Blades, ever so selfishly. :)

  6. 8 Orogeny
    August 29, 2011 at 9:18 am

    I am now quite sad that I never completed, then kept, the old Darkmantle set. However, dual wielding a warglaive with Thunderfury or being able to raid with my old Mug o’ hurt or Barman’s Shanker is sounding like a lot of fun.

  7. 11 ringa69
    August 30, 2011 at 7:09 am

    Personally im not going to change my rogues armor, I like seeing the new gear that im working on getting in current content. but on my alts I may experiment with some gun/bow/Xbows for my hunter and maybe some staffs for my casters but that will be the extent of it.

    As someone said above the T8 look was awesomesause but I dont want to have to go and get it all again. (deleted all wrath sets at beginning of cata). And because legendaries cant be used, there goes the warglave look that would of been the only things I would of changed. Looks like ill just have to get them to wear as they are.

  8. 12 Wraithstrike
    September 1, 2011 at 10:18 am

    Well I

  9. September 1, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Personally, i’m looking forward to mogging my hunter to a double barrel shotgun, overalls with no shirt and a fishing hat. Now THAT is a hunter. – Darynn

  10. 14 TheEmeraldWhirlwind
    October 27, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    Tier 8 Terrorblade, the purple one. Hell ya. :) Plus 2 Liar’s Togue Swords. BAM

  11. 15 Teriddax
    November 9, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    After some debating I decided to be a little different go with gear from the re-hashed ZG and ZA heroics that came out in 4.1
    i’m a lore nut, so this gear is a perfect way to match my race (Troll) and show my allegiance to Vol’jin over Garrosh by helping him beat back the Zandalari
    plus the gear goes with those kwl oversized daggers that sheathe on your back :D (they’re definitely gonna be the daggers I Transmogrify into, unless I get the legendary daggers ofc)
    hey, someone finally found a practical use for 4.1 :P

  12. 16 Diablo
    December 29, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    I disagree cause you can still see a chars progression by his hp or just simply inspecting it. In my opinion this feature should had been added much earlier as finally room to personalize and use imagination!


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,214,862 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

