05
Jul
11

This Seems Familiar

On my server, its Horde that griefs.  I’m sure that there are Alliance players that act this way as well, but in overwhelming numbers its Horde.  (I am on a PvE server)  I am equally sure than on other servers its the Alliance that does most of the griefing.

The first day of patch 4.2, and the new Thrall questline opened up.  Here we are killing lots of elementals to move forward in the quests.  As we do this, we’re surrounded by Horde who are flagged PvP.  If we use any AoE or multi-target abilities, we might hit them and get flagged ourselves, and then we get dog-piled.  Corpse run time…

It was the same situation in the new Firelands daily quest zone.

This reminds me very much of the Isle of Quel’Danas.  I did a post about the PvP impact on Quel’Danas progress  way back in March of 2008.  It was clear at that time that players on PvP servers made slower progress through the gated content than on PvE servers.  The obvious conclusion is that all the mutual ganking made the dailies either impossible to complete, or made people put them off until the online population was low.  Or, if a sever has an imbalanced horde vs alliance population, then one faction simply can’t do the dailies at all.

I can envision a PvP server where one faction is dominant, and its all but impossible for the other faction to do the Firelands dailies except in the middle of the night.

Is that happening now?  Can anyone on a PvP server comment?

4 Responses to “This Seems Familiar”


  1. July 5, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    Ok, from the Horde perspective, on Emerald Dream in an open pvp server, horde were getting dogpiled left and right. On on of my most recent posts I touched on this. For me, it’s the nature of the beast. I know on a pve server it is a little harder to deal with, but that is the war of it. I use strategy myself, lotsa stealth and quick in and outs. I still die but I choose my fighting first.

    • July 6, 2011 at 10:47 am

      If I were on a PvP server I would be fine with it. Part of the PvP server mentailty is the omnipresent horde-vs-alliance mentality. That’s not the case on a PvE server (and the reason I chose PvE).

  2. July 5, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    I play on Eu-Twilight’s Hammer and Horde outnumber Alliance 3:1 on it and it’s an exercise in futility trying to get anything done in a reasonable length of time. Any complaints and it’s instantly shrugged off with “PvP server noob”. I do not understand why people think this is good PvP and I would not hesitate to switch to PvE if I could take my guild with me

    • July 6, 2011 at 10:50 am

      If I were on a PvP server, its reasonable to think that I’d get attacked by the other faction on site.

      If Blizzard wanted to make the storyline such that alliance and horde are “working together” against the Firelands invasion, they would have made the area a “no-pvp sanctuary” like Dalaran or Shattrath. Since they didn’t do that, I can understand that all pvp is fair game.

      It still sucks if you’re on the receiving end of it, though.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,213,587 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

