13
Jun
11

Pristine Hide

With the new tier of gear coming in the next patch, there will also be new crafting patterns.  I enjoy crafting my own leather gear, so I’ll be stockpiling some materials toward that goal.

Except for Pristine Hide.  That’s a random chance drop when skinning, much like Arctic Fur was back in Wrath.  I don’t know about you, but I just don’t see Pristine Hide drops.  I am pretty sure that I have only gotten two Pristine Hides so far this expansion.  I’m not sure how much of that is a low drop rate, my own bad luck, or the fact that I rarely skin anything anymore because I port from SW directly to raids and then back to SW.

Since its a random drop with a very low drop rate, its difficult to farm it.  If you are a leatherworker I recommend that you buy these up at the auction house now if you can get a good price.  Currently they are down to about 250g each on my server.  The cost will skyrocket once the patch drops and the new LW patterns each need 5-8 of them.

Here are a couple of rogue-worthy crafted epics coming…

Clutches of Evil

Treads of the Craft

Also, if you are a LW, your tanks will want you to make them Drakehide Leg Armor, which also requires a Pristine Hide.

 

6 Responses to “Pristine Hide”


  1. June 13, 2011 at 10:14 am

    If you have extra leather, save your gold – you can buy Pristine Hides from the Leatherworking Supplies vendor in your home city (for me, it’s Jillian Tanner in SW). This vendor sells the LW recipes that are purchased with Heavy Savage Leather, and Pristine Hides cost the same – 10 leathers per.

    I try to do a little farming in TB each day when people are doing their croc dailies, so I have leathers saved for buying the Pristines. I do this because, as you said, the drop rate is atrocious. I think it has actually changed for the worse, though. In the first month of Cata, I got 7-8 of them. It felt like it normally did with Arctic Furs. But then I went on a 5-month, no-Pristine Hide drought, which sucked… so I was amazed when I got one yesterday! Ultimately, though, with a judicious use of time (you can get leather fast in TB) the Pristine Hides are not so bad to get without paying for them with gold out of pocket.

  2. 2 ringa69
    June 13, 2011 at 10:17 am

    I dont know if you know, but you can trade 10 heavy savage leather at the LW place and get a Pristine hide that way. Might be worth going out and farming some skins seeing that they will be in demand after the patch.

  3. June 13, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    I like to go out to the Highlands (cause you have to go there to buy the Hides anyway) and slaughter the dragonkin, maybe while waiting for a queue or just to kill some time. Spend some time out there and walk away with a ton of Savage Leather and probably a good deal of the Burnt Dragonscales (you know the ones I mean.) Use whatever leather you manage to come up with to buy as many Hides as you can afford before heading back to Org (or wherever you go.)

    I’ve also managed a ton of greens, blues and even 2 epic world drops out there (rings.)

  4. 5 Stacotte
    June 15, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    TB is a goldmine for farming skins to upgrade and then buy PH’s. The croc’s AND spiders yield a huge number of skins and it seems nowadays everyone just leaves them there for the taking. And to the original point, I think I’ve had a total of 4 PH drops ever and I spend a HUGE amount of time farming in TB.

    • June 21, 2011 at 3:22 pm

      You know, somewhere in the back of my mind I think I suspected that you could buy Pristine Hides for leather. However, I haven’t been to the LW trainer since the 3rd day after release because I had my LW maxed in 3 days, and out-of-sight, out-of-mind.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,212,869 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

