23
May
11

Rogue Tier 12

A whole month without a post – that is my longest blogging break since I started the blog.

I like to make rogue-related posts, but there isn’t much going on with rogues.  As usual, the notes for the upcoming patches don’t have any Azeroth-shaking changes to rogues because we’re darn-near perfect.

I also like to post about interesting experiences in my gaming, but there haven’t been many of those lately.   Its not that the game isn’t fun.  I still play a lot.  Its just that the things I do now are the same as what I was doing last month and the month before that.  I raid, I level alts, I sell glyphs.  Repeat.

I had written a post with assorted thoughts on current goings-on in the game, but given my lack of blog topics these days I think I’ll expand those thoughts into separate posts.

What I will say right now is this:  the rogue T12 may not look bad, but it also doesn’t look like something a rogue would wear.  Its too blousy and the sleeves are too big.  It does look like leather, which is a novel idea.  It also looks heavy enough to be cold-weather gear.  I mean, look at that and remember that its made from leather.  Can you imagine wearing something like that in Uldum?  You’d dehydrate!  That would have been a good design for the snows of Northrend.  But now?

Rogue Tier 12

On the other hand, it is probably flame retardant which will be good in Firelands.  Still – it just looks uncomfortable.  Rogues need to be agile and lithe.  They need to dress for practicality, with ease of movement.  Its easy to forget about that in a game where giant shoulderpads and swords that are bigger than the wielder have no impact on mobility.

I thought about posting all of the previous tier sets for comparisons, but that’s been done numerous times around the interwebs.  I will just point out my favorite, Tier 2

It is form-fitted (other than the shoulders, as usual), which is important for stealth and agility.  It has that threatening look that rogue gear always strives for.  The red is a good departure from the usual black. It doesn’t look like leather, but it also doesn’t *not* look like leather, if you can follow that.

Most importantly, neither the best set (T2) nor the upcoming set (T12) have another head on top of its head…


11 Responses to “Rogue Tier 12”


  1. May 23, 2011 at 10:53 am

    I agree, it looks odd to be a rogue set. With that beak symbol on the forehead it reminds me more of some druid set actually. Think I like t11 more, but I agree that t12 at least fits Firelands design.

  2. 2 Marek
    May 23, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    That head on top of a head was horrible. I’m really not much of a fan of the T12 for the same reason that you stated, it just doesn’t fit the rogue image. It fits much more with a warrior or like a guardsman uniform.

    They really need to go back and look at what a rogue is as they design these armor sets. By playing a rogue, I want to look like a rogue.

  3. 3 WhiteWatcher
    May 23, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    Your long break started to worry me there, good to see it was just lack of awesome things to write about.

    I will say, all the new tier 12 sets have such a similar theme that I start to think back to the ToC era sets of blah. Tier 9 I think. Everything was sooo similar. Soldier outfits yeah, but not adventuring ones.

  4. May 23, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    I never thought about it that way, but you’re right…the set is way too baggy to be Rouge-ish.

    I also think you guys got the most generic and uninspired set of this tier. I remember looking at it and just being completely under-whelmed.

  5. May 23, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    As a gnome, my favorite tier helm was 5. Mini-Skeletor! Birds, beaks, and turquoise on rogue gear can all take a walk. Glad to see a post! And thanks for the heads up on EventHorizon.

  6. May 24, 2011 at 3:21 am

    I would love for the powers that be to implement an option to turn off “show shoulders” for all classes. We can do it for the helm and cape… I detest shoulders on rogues. It looks like we are all fullbacks with no jerseys. Very unrogue-like.
    /agree with the above; good to read some freshness from ya. :)

  7. May 26, 2011 at 8:14 am

    I totally agree with the bagginess comment and that it does not seem very rogue-ish. That is unless we all are Judo masters all of a sudden, then it fits I suppose. BTW I kinda liked the head on head look. :p

  8. 9 BenDover
    May 28, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    Besides the shoulders, I could actually see a fighter being rather agile in the Dark Phoenix, aka t12 Rogue set. The bagginess there, it means you have room to move, something that not all sets have. It looks protective too, and the colors and flame patterns fit rather well for Firelands. I’m a fan of the mask helmets. Kinda like being Batman or something. I think Dark Phoenix is kinda like the love child of the Madcap and Vancleef’s Battlegear sets.

    This set is not so much about the stealthy Rogue, it’s more about the brawler. We are Jack Sparrow for Firelands.

  9. 10 wraith
    June 6, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    I fail to see the bagginess you are speaking of. The set looks big because its modeled on a gorilla…I mean a human (worst looking toon BTW), put this on a NE and it will look more form fitting. As for the blousy/sleeves are too big issue..well those are not sleeves, that is the top of the gloves your looking at. Just like Bloodfang, or current blue gear gloves (Gloves of the Haze).

    But, yes I think you are correct about the helm and shoulders….I mean do we now get to spec into Falcon Power Ranger. Blizzard’s Art department looks like they have been huffing glue, our tier sets havent looked good since BC.

  10. 11 HughJorgen
    October 17, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    I personally like the Dark Phoenix set, I mostly PVP and we get get crap boring sets. I would love to see something like this for PVP. Maybe if more players wrote Blizzard and told them that their art work is not appealing to the fans anymore they would change something. Blizzard is turning into a big corporation where they are turning their artists into a assembly line and giving them unrealistic deadlines on artwork. They are taking the creativity away from the artists, which in turn takes the creativity away from us as fans.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,187,147 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

