26
Mar
11

Going through a rough patch

I’ve been flailing about in game for things to keep me busy.

Raiding has basically stopped in my guild.  Due to attrition and an inability to field a consistent group from week to week, we haven’t had a 25-man get off the ground in weeks.  As a solution, we’re going to transition to 10-man raiding and try to get two teams going.  In the meantime we have few raids going on which leaves me with nothing to do on my main.  So my time has been spent elsewhere.

I finished leveling my priest up to level 85.  I’ve been playing him strictly as shadow for leveling and instances, put I plan to give Discipline healing a try at some point.  He’s fun, but I have always found ranged dps to be a little dull.  Too much standing around.

I’ve spent hours fishing to try and catch the Bloated fish for the Oceanographer and Limnologist achievements.  I caught one, only to find that its being removed in the next patch.  =/  Wasted time…

Next on my agenda is powerleveling a Dwarf Rogue for the guild’s Stay Classy achievement.  I got him four heirloom pieces with XP boosts, plus the guild achievement Fast Track.  I played for an afternoon and went from level 1-25.  Not bad.  I’m leveling as Subtlety for the fun of big Ambush numbers.

I’ve also finally gotten around to playing the introductory zones for Worgen and Goblins.  I think that the Worgen zone was interesting and had a coherent storyline with a satisfying end.  The Goblin zone was fun, but clearly not to be taken seriously.  I found it less appealing, as it seemed to not fit in with the theme of the game.

These next couple of weeks are going to be critical for the guild.  If we can get 10-man raiding off the ground without excluding too many people, then things have a shot at continuing.  If it doesn’t happen then I can picture guildies logging on less and less (as is happening everywhere in the game).

With all of this, I don’t feel like I have a lot of blog-worthy material.  I am not planning to write about my hours of fishing, or my experiences leveling a shadow priest.  I have some thoughts on the dwarf subtlety rogue and the general ennui in WoW, so those posts will come soon.

5 Responses to “Going through a rough patch”


  1. 1 Marek
    March 26, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    I think that Blizzard is really missing the boat with interesting non-group activities that have some meaningful reward.

    I understand that WoW is a Multi-Player game, but not every minute can be spent in groups by everyone, there is a lot of time that people spend playing when they are just sitting around.

    What we need is something that you can do that does provide a meaningful reward and using gathering skills is not it. There is really nothing that can be fished up besides a turtle mount and fish/cooked food don’t have enough value to make it very meaningful outside of the achievements. You can go gather herbs, mine ore, or farm leather, but that is just grinding.

    Archeology makes fishing look exciting, it’s absolutely brutal and I’d be very surprised if anyone that thinks that WoW in general is fun can actually enjoy this profession.

    I really think they need to make rares and rare elites drop items that have some real value. Or change archeology so you find something of value besides just relics, like while doing archeology you find a maelstrom crystal or things like that, which give you a nice surprise instead of just the incredibly rare epic BoE drop. Throw some BoE blues into the pickpocket tables that are fairly rare, but not ridiculously rare like epics.

    /Marek

  2. 2 Furrycane
    March 26, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    “I’m leveling as Subtlety for the fun of big Ambush numbers.”

    I hit some 50k Ambushes on Magmaw this week; that was fun :)

    “I have always found ranged dps to be a little dull.”

    My first toon was a hunter, and I raided on him in ICC before Cata. When Cataclysm came out, I leveled a Worgen rogue to explore the Gilnean zone (which I agree was well-done) and I enjoyed it so much that he has become Cata-raid-ready and consumed most of my playing time the last few weeks. Just this week I finally returned to start leveling my hunter from 80–>85 and was amazed at how much easier rdps are to play. So much easier to avoid standing in stuff, so much easier to just focus on rotations, and still with plenty of aggro-dumps and oh-sh-t buttons. I will still play my hunter – hunters really shine right now in Cataclysm due to their utility and versatility – but I agree that rogues are both more challenging and more exciting.

  3. 3 *vlad*
    March 28, 2011 at 9:42 am

    Those Bloated fish have ridiculously low drop rates for the most part, and we are talking about 1/1000 or something like that (anecdotal evidence ftw! Actually, check El’s guide for more proof). I’m glad they are being removed.
    Archaeology has the basics of a fun profession, but it needs a big overhaul. Way, way too grindy right now. After you have found the same piece of junk for the 19th time, you feel like pulling your fingernails out with your teeth.

  4. 4 ozolin
    March 28, 2011 at 9:54 am

    I’ve greatly enjoyed raiding as a Hunter up to this point, though I’m seeing some similar issues with my own guild. We’re having trouble even fielding a regular 10 man weekly raid, though to be fair the guild is pretty small, by our own design.

    I am stunned to hear they’re removing the fishing achievements. I cannot tell you how long I’ve been trying to catch bloated fish as they’re all I have remaining on my “to catch” list to complete the achievements. :(

    • March 28, 2011 at 3:09 pm

      They aren’t removing the achievements. They are removing the Bloated fish from the requirements. Once the patch drops, you’ll get the achievements.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 92 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 91 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 92 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,219,700 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

