28
Feb
11

Patch 4.1 Rogue Quality of Life Changes

As always, the big overhauls in patches go to other classes.  Rogue are close enough to perfect that we only get little tweaks.

A couple of little happiness-inducing changes in the notes for patch 4.1, currently on the PTR.

Tricks of the Trade range increased to 100 yards.  This makes me happy.  Some of these raid bosses have huge hit boxes.  They are so large that being behind the boss puts me out of range of the tank for Tricks.  Alternately, if I want to Tricks to a hunter then often I find range issues there.  This change will make it so that I can Tricks anyone in the raid without having to run around to find them.

Movement penalty removed from stealth and base cooldown of stealth reduced to 4 seconds (from 10) are two changes that are nice for PvE, but questionable for PvP.  As all assassination rogues know, we want to start the fight in stealth to get Overkill.  However, that means that we are often slow in moving to our position.  Sprint helps, but this change makes it more convenient.  Its not a big change – but just a little tweak for quality-of-life.

However, I think that non-rogues who hate us in PvP will complain.  Rogues in stealth are deadly in PvP, and improving their movement speed is bound to be unpopular for the rest of the WoW world.

The subtlety talent Nightstalker will be changed to give a stealth speed increase instead of its current effect.

Also, they are buffing the base effect of Recuperate for all rogues, and then reducing the amount that Improved Recuperate helps combat rogues.  Combat rogues should see no net change, while mut and sub rogues will find their recuperates healing for more.  No complaints here.

 

6 Responses to “Patch 4.1 Rogue Quality of Life Changes”


  1. 1 ringa69
    February 28, 2011 at 9:18 am

    Over all I think these are good changes.

    I hated the range of Tricks of the Trade for soo long, every time I wanted to use it the person would be out of range. Now I should be able to “Tricks” a ranged class. (and that would be good as I am a solo rogue in raids at the moment)

    The speed boost, from nightstaker talent, I can see getting changed really quickly. It just feels overpowered to allow it. It might be a case of Blizzard going way too far, then “dialling it back” to a more reasonable level. We will have to wait and see I suppose.

    With Recuperate, I do all my dailies, Random H and Farming in combats spec (raid as assassination) just because of the bonus to the heal. I use it all the time just to keep myself “topped up”. I remember levelling and the constant stopping to bandage and eat, I can imagine how easy it would of been to have this back then.

    Now if Blizzard would buff our DPS “slightly”, just to put us on par with the top DPS again, I would be a happy and content rogue.

  2. February 28, 2011 at 10:49 am

    The stealth changes made my jaw drop. Rogues would actually move faster in stealth than normal running with the Nightstalker talent? I can see how this can make some pvpers annoyed… good thing I don’t pvp ^^ As Ringa69 says, that is just too op. And what will all the feral druids say? ;)

  3. February 28, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Nice tweaks. I have to find a way to play my Rogue more often. I really miss him :(

  4. March 2, 2011 at 7:25 am

    I think this is a nice change. I always thought it strange that my Druid had better stealth than my Subtlety Rogue. Rogues, espcially subtelty rogues are supposed to be the masters of stealth.

    I do think this change will be helpful in pve and pvp. It will help Rogues move faster (while stealthed) in dungeons. At times I’ve had to pop out of stealth to catch up with my group, and quickly pop back in before getting in combat. I’ve been grouped with people that are blasting through everything. This will just make it a little easier to keep up if I’ve had to do some CC or when Shadow Step is on CD.

    Regarding Blizzard lowering the cool down on restealthing, you can only take advantage of this if you aren’t in combat. It takes about 6 seconds to go OOC. As a Sub Rogue, I had already took advantage of this talent, so I can already use stealth in 4 seconds. I rarely have to wait for my stealth CD. I’m usually waiting to get back Out of combat to restealth. :)

  5. 5 Furrycane
    March 4, 2011 at 2:29 am

    Sounds like we will essentially be getting the current version of Nightstalker for free, so instead of getting the new buff version I may move those two points into Enveloping Shadows. AoE damage is rampant in Cataclysm (guess that’s why they call it a cataclysm), and Enveloping Shadows plus Feint could give near 100% uptime of 80% damage reduction. Fewer heals needed by squishy rogue means more heals available for tank.

  6. 6 roguehard
    April 20, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    I feel like rogues deserve the speed boost in stealth after hunters got a nice pvp ability with their own stealth. The increased ToTT range is going to be very welcome, especially on the Magmaw fight, and the beginning of the Atramedes encounter (at least for the way I begin those two fights) looking forward to all of it


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,212,958 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

