23
Feb
11

Time flies when you’re not posting

Wow – its been two weeks without a post.

There hasn’t been much to talk about.

Rogues

I think some rogues are disappointed to see the current state of dps.  For many of us, we are of the opinion that the so-called “pure dps” classes (rogue, mage, warlock, hunter) should out-damage the hybrid classes.  I know that there is much disagreement on that point, but its a fairly commonly-held opinion.

Right now, according to stateofdps.com, shadow priests are at the top of the pile.  Balance druids and unholy death knights are also ahead of rogues on that list.  Keep in mind that list is just from the top 200 World of Logs parses, so there is plenty of variation in individual guilds and raids.

In my guild’s raids, our shadow priest is definitely giving me a run.  If I’m not right on my game he’ll pass me in dps.  On some fights, like Conclave of Wind with a lot of movement and target switching, he has already passed me.

Notable on that list at the State of Dps web site, assassination is still ahead of combat in every fight except Halfus Wyrmbreaker.  Presumably that because of the combat BF cleave running up big numbers when downing the adds.  Also of note: subtlety is at the bottom of every list, and they couldn’t even find enough sub rogues to make a good statistical sample.

I’m still running combat for heroics and assassination for raids.  I can’t bring myself to even try the sub spec.

Guild

We’re at the point of decision making with our guild.  We want to do 25-man raiding.  Really we do.  We try almost every week.  But we have a lot more success in our 10-man raids.

If it was just about loot, loot, and more loot we’d switch to 10-man raids in a minute.  There’s more to the game than loot, though.  There’s camaraderie and the chance to play with friends.  There are more than 9 other people that I’d like to raid with, so we keep banging our heads against the wall trying to find 25 people who can work together.  Still, its getting close to the frustration point for many of our players.

My guild is still keeping up with the daily XP cap.  We’re at level 17 which got us the G-Mail perk.  We also got the recipe for the Seafood Magnifique Feast.  We have over 1100 guild achievement points, which puts us at #3 on our server.  Since we don’t push raid progression, that’s a nice measure of our dedication.  We have not lost too many people due to apathy.  I suspect that we might lose a couple to Rift, but we’ll have to wait and see.

My Playtime

I barely run heroics on my rogue now.  They have certainly become easier now that gear has caught up with dungeon difficulty and people have learned the fights.  I have not had many failpugs in the past couple of weeks.  I still cannot get a ranged weapon or wrist drop, though, and its starting to annoy me.

I’ve leveled a paladin tank.  I really hate tanking heroics.  Well, mostly I hate marking targets.  So, instead of getting heroic drops I geared him up the old-fashioned way – I bought him stuff.  I spent over 20k buying BoE and crafted items on the AH.  He’s geared enough that I was able to off-tank a Halfus Wyrmbreaker kill, so I guess that’s acceptable.  The only problem with this gearing method is that I don’t have any reputations high enough to buy him an arcanum or any other goodies.

I’m now working on a shadow priest.  I eventually plan to switch him to Disc and heal, but for leveling its shadow all the way.  Wow, he does a ton of damage.  Its easily faster than leveling on my rogue was.  I don’t even have to stop for mana.  I’m actually pulling 2-3 mobs at a time just to make things interesting.  That’s weird for a clothie toon.

Auction House

The glyph market has almost completely dried up.  I’m just making enough to break even with my weekly raiding costs, and with buying gear for my alts.  I may have to start looking for other gold-making markets now.

That’s all that is going on with me right now.

6 Responses to “Time flies when you’re not posting”


  1. 1 Finnei
    February 23, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    Assuming you brought your rogue to exalted with all factions, your arcanum head enchant is BoA, so you’re good. The shoulder sadly isn’t, but we can’t win em all.

    • 2 Finnei
      February 23, 2011 at 2:03 pm

      Well….all factions don’t matter, just the one with the necessary arcanum.

    • February 23, 2011 at 4:56 pm

      Even though the arcanums are BoA, you still require the appropriate revered reputation to actually apply them to your helm. It makes no sense, but there you go.

      I tried PvE sub for a couple of bosses in this week’s raid (normal V&T and ascendant council), it’s a very fun spec. I didn’t reforge my gear and kept messing up my rotation and still world of logs says I was world #3 and #5 for the two fights respectively. From that I’m convinced that the numbers on stateofdps vastly underestimate it’s potential.

      Attacks with positional requirements are pretty suck though :[

      • February 23, 2011 at 5:43 pm

        On stateofdps, the standard deviation listed for the sub spec is enormous. That tells me that, while the mean for sub is quite low, the highs are much higher (and the lows are probably much lower).

        I guess if you play it properly you can probably punch out some nice numbers.

  2. 5 steve
    February 25, 2011 at 4:28 am

    I’m fairly certain they fixed the BoA enchant bug, allowing our alts to be abke to use them again.

    Also, have you ever looked into a markin addon, or script/macros of some sort? I’m actually starting to have some fun with these heroics now that folks have caught up to the gear/brain curve

  3. 6 DubtemI
    July 30, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    которые похуделикак преодолеть переедание и другие причины излишнего весакак сидеть на банановой диетеантицеллюлитный массаж вакуумными банкамиантицеллюлитный массаж в пензедиеты жесткие кремлевскаякоричневый слон средства для похудениядиета 30 30 40как правильно питаться для похудениячто поможет похудению бизнес на лишнеммелисса в составе чая для похудениясотрудничества фитнес-центров с диет центрамикак похудел пенкин фотокулинарная книга диетологаздоровительный центр по похудению и избавлению от никотина г.тверьлунная диета диета по лунному календарюкоктели энирджи диеткак похудеть в голениблюд диетическогодиета от сестер олсен


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,205,729 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

