06
Jan
11

Heroic Bosses I Like or Dislike

I only run one heroic per day (if that), so it took me until yesterday to finally see all of the heroic instances.  Here’s my impression of some of the the bosses I like and dislike.

Throne of the Tides:

  • Like: Commander Ulthok.  While it is a kiting fight, I can spend most of my time behind / off to the side and can maintain single-target dps.
  • Dislike: Mindbender Ghur’sha.  Target switching and moving out of line-of-sight of his shadow beams is frustrating and disruptive to our dps.

Stonecore:

  • Like: Slabhide.  Healers dislike this one because there are a lot of line of sight issues, but for us its focused damage except the brief moments we duck behind a stalagmite to avoid Crystal Storm.
  • Corborus.  Well, everyone hates Corborus.  In particular for rogues, the little shards need to be AoE’d down, but our FoK requires us to be in melee range so we end up taking a lot of damage if we need to help take down the adds.

Vortex Pinnacle

  • Like: Asaad.  Basic tank and spank.  The other fight mechanics like jumping and moving are not too disruptive.
  • Dislike: Altairus.  The upwind/downwind mechanic is obnoxious when you’re trying to stay behind the boss.  The tornadoes are everywhere.

Lost City

  • Like:  General Husam.  Another kiting fight with occasional running out to avoid AoE effects.  If you’re lucky enough to avoid randomly being thrown into a pillar, then its a dance to stay behind the boss while avoiding the mines on the ground.  Fun.
  • Dislike: Siamat.  Lots of target switching and running across the combat area to acquire new targets.

Halls of Origination

  • Like: Temple Guardian Anhuur.  There is something satisfying when you pop Tricks onto the tank before jumping down, and then you FoK and watch all the snakes run away from you to the tank, leaving the way clear for you to pull the lever.
  • Dislike: most of the bosses are dps burns so none stand out as particularly unlikable.

Grim Batol

  • Like: Erudax.  Anytime the strategy is “burn the adds asap” you know that rogues are into it.  Gives me a reason to spec into Deadly Brew
  • Dislike: Drahga Shadowburner.  I have a hard time finding the invoked spirits when I am staring at the back of the boss.

Shadowfang Keep:

  • Like: Baron Ashbury.  I enjoy fights where I have to interrupt.  It gives me something extra to do beside my dps rotation.
  • Dislike:  Commander Springvale… unless you drag him outside to avoid the adds when this becomes much simpler.

Deadmines:

  • Like: Vanessa Van Cleef.  Who could dislike swinging on ropes?
  • Dislike: Foe Reaper 5000 because I spend half the fight running away from him.  Also Cookie.  Its really tough for melee to get close enough to attack with all the bad food lying around.  And Ripsnarl, for that matter, because of the frequent target switching.  Oh, and don’t forget Glubtok… that moving wall of flame is hard on melee.

Blackrock Caverns:

  • Like: Beauty.  Basic tank and spank.
  • Dislike:  Karsh Steelbender.  I hate taking unavoidable AoE damage in a fight.  I end up spending a lot of combo points on Recuperate, which helps out the healer but makes it hard to keep my damage rotations going.
11 Responses to “Heroic Bosses I Like or Dislike”


  1. January 6, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    I *love* Altairus as a rogue! If you can avoid the tornadoes while staying upwind you can consistently do 25k+ dps. It’s a very quick and painless fight with people who know what they’re doing.

    I agree with the rest of your assessments, at least if we take “bosses I like” to mean “bosses I can do good dps on easily” :>

    • 2 Talarian
      January 6, 2011 at 7:46 pm

      Yeah, that’s what it sounds like to me. With the exception of a couple interrupt bosses, it basically sounds like “I like bosses where I can stand behind the boss and just focus on my rotation”.

      • January 6, 2011 at 8:25 pm

        First – not entirely true. I also highlighted fights such as Anhuur, Erudax, and Slabhide which are not all standing still, but have enjoyable mechanics that are not melee-unfriendly.

        Second – its not the standing still part that is at issue. Its more the target switching. The assassination spec has a ramp-up time. Fights with a lot of switching leave us energy starved, unable to do much more than autoattack, which is no fun at all.

        In addition, considering how little utility rogues bring, my only purpose in most fights is to bring the damage. On a fight like Foe Reaper, because I have to spend so much time off target, my damage is minimal. I don’t get to interrupt, stun, slow, pop heroism, taunt, give replenishment, tank, heal, fear, kite, or do anything useful while I am standing off to the side waiting for him to finish his AoE attack of the moment.

        So, since I can only do damage, you bet the fights I like are the fights where I get to do what I am built to do – damage. And I don’t see anything wrong with that.

      • January 7, 2011 at 3:07 am

        I agree that target switching is extremely painful as assassination. Fights like Conclave are frustrating because I don’t feel like I’m pulling my weight when I have to swap between short-living flowers all the time. Even Omnotron Council is a bit annoying with the frequent switches.

        The fights I find the most fun are when you get to make good use of feint, cloak, interrupts, and encounter mechanics to minimize damage taken while still doing maximum damage. I find Asaad in VP particularly entertaining since jumping the static and maximizing melee uptime around grounding fields is a little more to think about than your average tank-and-spank.

        The heroic dungeon bosses are all fairly short and striaghtforward, though. In raid encounters there are a lot more fun little optimizations you can do!

        (on For Reaper, I usually pilot the harvest golem. That fight is pretty lame for melee!)

  2. January 7, 2011 at 3:10 am

    Forgot to mention, my pet peeve heroic boss is probably Ozruk in Stonecore. You spend so much time running in and out (potentially losing your deadly stack), you can’t see your damage numbers because he’s so tall, you have to get a bleed up on yourself which is counterintuitive, and the fight is rough with a pug tank because they tend to wipe twice figuring out what his abilities do.

    Not only that, but he keeps repeating the same annoying sound clip: “BREAK YOURSELVES UPON MY BODY. FEEL THE STRENGTH OF THE EARTH!” over and over!

    And then to make things worse, there isn’t any rogue loot!

  3. January 7, 2011 at 8:46 am

    Nice to see some comments on the various HC bosses. Sadly, I haven’t tried SFK yet.

    I didn’t find Glubtok to be much of a challenge. When he summons the flamewall, you just roatet slowly around him, pretty much equalling the act of standing still in terms of DPS.

    As for unavoidable AoE, don’t forget about Feint!

  4. 8 Hraklea
    January 7, 2011 at 9:10 am

    I started heroics yesterday, with my guildmates.

    I couldn’t agree more with your opinion about Throne of the Tides, but I have to disagree about Altairus. Avoiding tornados while trying to stay behind him and get the wind buff is really challenging, but not impossible. And I loved the big number from Wind + Agility Potion + Vendetta + Backstab spam 8D. I found it the best fight of Vortex Pinnacle.

    (only ran these two heroics until now)

  5. 9 TheReaper
    January 13, 2011 at 5:37 am

    While target switching is still a bit of a pain (why did redirect have to be a one minute cooldown anyways?), getting multiple bleed/poison stacks going really boosts your energy regeneration.
    In fights with lots of switching I still find my dps to be pretty competative.
    And if you like really big numbers, pray for whelps on the wyrmbreaker fight… 40k dps over the whole fight simply by spamming FoK in the beginning ;)

  6. 10 Deius
    January 13, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    I usually like your columns and such, but this blogpost just sounds like,” I hate things that don’t let me tunnel vision the boss.” Hopefully I just misinterpreted your wording.

    • January 13, 2011 at 8:40 pm

      How about, “I don’t like bosses that make me switch targets constantly.”

      Its not that I have anything specifically against the design of those fights. I’m sure that a lot of classes find them interesting. But when I am energy starved and mostly I have to autoattack, its certainly not fun as a rogue. So while those bosses can be a challenge, I definitely have more fun on a boss that lets me keep Rupture up so that I have some energy return and I can actually use my abilities.

      Ask me to interrupt. Ask me to stun or slow. But as a mutilate rogue, switching targets is a chore.

      You can categorize it as tunnel vision if you choose. But at the end of the fight, when I see that I did much less damage than the tank, and its not due to interrupts or kiting but just because I had to keep changing targets, then I think you can see why I’d find that to be less fun. Not just because of the numbers, but because I was mostly bored with not enough energy to do anything interesting.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,199,616 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

