24
Dec
10

For Comparison

I just looked back in my blog archives.  I published my “level 80″ post on December 22nd, 2008.  That is 39 days after the Wrath of the Lich King was released.

I finally reached level 85 last night, December 23rd, 2010.  That is 16 days after the release of the Cataclysm expansion.  Keeping in mind that this time around I had significant real life distractions, leveling in Cataclysm was really, really short.  And I am one of the last people I know to hit 85.

3 Responses to “For Comparison”


  1. 1 Stacotte
    December 24, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    But we have only 5 levels to go on Cataclysm (80-85). We had 10 to go in Wrath, right (70-80)? So you’re still leveling faster. Even if you standardize the rate (would look like about 32 days – 16*2) but not exceedingly so. And I think I might be officially the LAST person to not already be 85!

    Stacotte – Whisperwind

  2. 2 Backer
    December 27, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    I think the biggest change was in game questhelper. When I leveled my first toon through WotLK, I went through Borean (130 quests), Fjord (130 quests), Zul’Drak (100 quests), Dragonblight (105 quests), and started Shalozar Basin (say, 30 quests in). So I dinged 80 at 495 quests.

    This time around, I did Vashj’ir (160 quests), Hyjal (115 quests), Deepholm (125 quests), and about half of Uldum (say 54 quests) which is about 454 quests.

    I didn’t instance in either expansion until I dinged the level cap. The quest volume was a little higher in WotLK, but not doubly so. I’m not sure how much more streamlined the quest hubbing is in Cataclysm than WotLK, since both had a lot of “pick up 2-5 quests from NPC, do stuff, either pick up more or go to next NPC” situations. I really think it’s all the in game questhelper.

    • December 27, 2010 at 1:35 pm

      I would tend to agree. I’m a quest nerd – I read the quest text and everything! But I can’t help but find myself accepting the quest after a quick glance, then immediately opening up my map to see where the bug yellow question mark appears.

      For almost all of the quests, there was no reason at all to read the quest text. Blah.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,200,165 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

