09
Dec
10

What’s new? QQ

This is a QQ post.  Please skip it if you’re not interested.  Its my blog, and I can QQ if I want to.

Three days into the expansion and I have yet to reach level 81 on any of my characters.  Considering how much I play the game, this is a sign that there is something wrong either with me, or with the game, or both.

I’m a little disappointed.  If you read my previous posts, you already know that.

Answer this:  what is new in Cataclysm?  I don’t mean new content like quests and new raids.  I mean new features… something completely new that was not in the game before.  Quests are quests, and while the specifics are a little different from one expansion to the next, quests, instances, battlegrounds, and raids are not new to the game.

When Burning Crusade came out, in addition to the expected new zones, instances, quests, battlegrounds, and raids, it added completely new features to the game.  It added:

  • arenas
  • new expanded talent trees with all-new talents
  • blood elves and draenei
  • horde paladins and alliance shaman
  • flying mounts
  • jewelcrafting and socketed items

Burning Crusade also dramatically changed raiding by cutting it from 40-man to 10/25 man, but that’s still raiding so I won’t count it as a feature.

When Wrath of the Lich King came out in addition to the expected new zones, instances, quests, battlegrounds, and raids, it added completely new features to the game.  It added:

  • the achievement system
  • new expanded talent trees with all-new talents
  • Death Knights
  • inscription and glyphs
  • Wintergrasp / World PvP
  • phasing

It also added 10/25 modes to raids, but that’s still raiding so I won’t count it as a new feature.

Now what did Cataclysm add?  In addition to the expected new zones, instances, quests, battlegrounds, and raids, it added:

  • guild leveling and achievements
  • archaeology
  • worgen and goblins
  • flying in Azeroth
  • underwater zones

That’s a pretty meager list, comparatively.

As I’ve said before, with the change in guild XP, the guild leveling is meaningless.  Right now, Premonition (the #1 guild in the US) and my guild are both level 2 and hit that mark at about the same time last night.  We’ll both hit level 3, 4, 5, etc… at about the same time also.  That’s ridiculous – Premonition should be miles ahead of my guild by any measure.  So that feature has no draw for me anymore.

All that is really new, then, is worgen and goblins, flying in Azeroth, and archaeology.  Am I missing something?

I can’t bring myself to be excited about questing right now.  I’ve been questing on my alts for the past month, and it seems like just the same-old-same-old.  At the same time I don’t want to rush through leveling as a stepping stone to get to raiding. I want to enjoy the game.

So what have I been doing?  Mostly staying in Stormwind and doing dailies, and leveling my professions.  I’ve barely touched either of the new zones.  Today I’ll probably work on archaeology.  I might not even hit level 81 until the weekend.  My guild will probably start raiding without me pretty soon.

I really want to find something in Cataclysm to get excited about.  Quests won’t do it.  Any suggestions?  What have you done that has excited you?

16 Responses to “What’s new? QQ”


  1. 1 Dreadheart
    December 9, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    Hi Dinaer,

    I’ve been reading your blog site for quite a long time, I really enjoy it but rarely post any responses. I kinda felt compelled this time though because I too have some concerns about the levelling content, though they are different to yours…

    As opposed to your experience, I have found levelling to be too easy. I like completing all the quests in each zone and started in Hyjal then went on to Vashj. I’ve completed both zones now and am a fair way into level 83, I work full time and haven’t spent huge amounts of time on the game. Which makes me realise that I will hit the level cap well and truly before I’ve made it through all the new zones, and will likely be 85 on my main within a week of the expansion launching… that’s too quick!!

    Also, with the exception of being ganked occaisionally, I simply cannot die to mobs in these areas. Recuperate has taken all the finesse out of being a rogue. There used to be skill in the initial mob pull – stealthing up, sapping one mob, stunning/blinding another, keeping the target stunned and minding your positioning with relation to it. I like this aspect of being a rogue, it’s tricky, a little challenging, and fun! All because our health pool was vital, our armour was squishy, and managing our survival was what made rogues unique. So far all I have had to do is run straight into a pack of mobs, get a few combo points up and hit Recuperate – I’ve had as many as 5 level-equivalent mobs on me at once and not dropped below 50% health. I’ve soloed elites and finished the fight on full health! Quite frankly that’s bullshit and I am already bored of playing in such a way – there is no danger and no need to play carefully.

    The two starting zones are big areas and, in my opinion, very beautiful – I tip my hat to Blizzard for their design work. Phasing has been used in multiple layers which makes for a very interesting way to see the story unfold around you – I like it! But it has caused me and some guild mates some consternation… we cannot complete all quests in certain zones because progressing the main storyline to a new “phase” prevents any uncompleted quests associated with the previous “phase” from being accessed. This is frustrating and disappointing, plus it prevents the quest completion achievements from being earnt.

    My last concern is with the use of the zones after we hit 85. For instance, I can’t think of any reason to go back to Vashj – there’s very few nodes for herbalism and mining, I haven’t seen any daily quests unlocked there yet, and due to phasing there are some regions that are completely uninhabited by anything once all the quests are done. The dungeon finder lets you port straight to the instances. It’s such an amazing place, but i can’t think of any reason to go back and visit it except for some sight seeing when I’m bored. I hope there may be some surprises in store for when I hit 85, but I am doubtful. Reputation is too easy to gain, so there wont be much in the way of grinding rep to pass the time at 85 – I can foresee myself standing in SW waiting for heroic or raid groups to form and rarely step outside of the place.

    I was a big fan of BC, disliked Wrath immensely, and was very much looking forward to Cata bringing back the BC style of game – I am probably speaking to soon, but it seems to me that Cata is bringing back some elements of BC raiding and retaining all of the “easy mode” elements of Wrath with regard to the rest of the game (and yes, there used to far more to WoW than just raiding). I love raiding, but if that’s all there is to do after just a month or two of playing I will be disappointed.

    • December 10, 2010 at 3:26 am

      Hyjal and Vashj’ir are a little on the soft side for questing. The only real time you’ll get in danger is if you pulled stupid.

      Deepholme get a little tougher. I don’t play a rogue, so I don’t have Recuperate. But, as a Druid, I do have heal buttons. And I still died about half a dozen times across the zone. I know it doesn’t seem like much, but it’s probably more than I died questing through all of Wrath.

      By the time you go beyond Deepholme, it gets even tougher (so I hear). And if you waltz into Twilight Highlands expecting to be the biggest, baddest thing in the zone…you’re going to have your rear handed to you (again, so I hear).

      The curve is fast…but it’s reasonable. While it seems way too fast now, by the time you’re leveling that second or third alt through it, it’s going to feel like forever, just like 70-80 did by the time we were late into Wrath.

    • December 10, 2010 at 6:55 am

      I agree with your points as well. The more I think about it, the more I feel like this is another big part of my problem.

      When Blizzard announced that the level cap would be only 85 instead of 90, they told us that leveling would be much more epic, and that gaining a level would be significant.

      Considering the number of people who are already 85, I think they failed in that goal.

      I don’t want to buzz through the content because I, too, don’t want to spend two years just raiding. /sigh

      At least I hit level 81 last night. On two characters, even.

    • 4 Valandil
      December 14, 2010 at 4:37 pm

      Nobody ever said you had to use Recuperate. If you enjoy micro-managing 4 mobs with trickery, you still can. Blizzard is not forcing rogues to use Recup. If that were the case, they would have removed Blind and any stunlock from the game all together. Instead, you are given another option which you have clearly taken advantage of. If you really liked micro-managing groups of mobs with trickery, then you would still do it and Recuperate wouldn’t even be on your bars.

      I think the worst thing about Cata is Mastery. I thought the point of removing stats like arpen from the game was to make itemization less of a pain, for example the difference in Wrath between a Mutilate set and a Combat set. Mutilate wanted nothing to do with arpen and was instead stacking haste/ap. In Cata, Combat wants nothing to do with Mastery as it is our lowest priority stat (even lower than crit) yet gear is saturated with it – and for Mut, Mastery is not only better but significantly better. Even Reforging won’t solve this problem as in many cases just having Mastery on a piece as a Combat rogue hurts, and hurts bad. So I’ll still need 2 completely different sets of gear if I want to run both specs. GG Blizz.

      Other than that I think pretty much everything else kicks ass.

      • December 14, 2010 at 5:05 pm

        I kind of agree with Dreadheart on that. Of course we’re gong to use Recuperate. No one wants to intentionally make things more difficult than they have to by not using it, and the game is balanced around it and similar abilities across the classes. However, its implementation might be a little heavy-handed.

        I haven’t even come close to dying to mobs while questing. I can take on several at once and not worry about my health due to Recuperate.

        When I leveled with my wife in vanilla, we were a team – I killed everything and she kept me alive. Now my self-healing is out-healing her heals. I don’t think that was the intent.

        That, plus the ridiculous leveling speed, makes me think that questing and leveling in the new zones was almost an afterthought in this expansion. Its trivial.

  2. 6 Revolver
    December 10, 2010 at 2:48 am

    Hi Dinaer,

    i just wanted to say that i totally agree with ur points that cata is a lil disapointing.
    I love your blog and I read it every day, you are smart and your postings always make sense to me and I have the same feelings like you in that.

    Greetz
    Revolver

  3. December 10, 2010 at 3:34 am

    Just get started on it. The waves of people working through Hyjal and Vashj’ir have significantly slowed. There’s rarely competition at this point. Plus the zones (I think) are wholly engaging. While questing is questing, if you take the time to read all the quests and actually follow the story, it ends up being some of the best questing in the game to date.

    While we have 85’s already, the majority of us won’t be there for a bit yet. And the odds of us starting serious raiding without you are slim to none. At least any raids I run.

    And yeah, the amount of “new” stuff this time is kinda lacking. Unless you count, you know, just about every questline in the two old continents. A lot of development resources went into redoing all of EK and Kali. That’s no small feat. Not on top of an additional 6 new 80+ zones, Gilneas, and Kezan. And the new zones are ginormous. Vashj’ir alone is Borean Tundra and Howling Fjord combined.

    • December 10, 2010 at 8:39 am

      Saniel sai:
      “the amount of “new” stuff this time is kinda lacking. Unless you count, you know, just about every questline in the two old continents”

      Oh, I recognize that, and I see all the work that went into remaking the old world. If I were a player who started in Wrath, I’d be awed. As a player from vanilla, all that is somewhat useless to me right now. It will be great later when I am leveling my worgen. But for now? Nada.

      • December 10, 2010 at 11:19 am

        I feel so sad that you aren’t enjoying this as much as some of us :(

        I think the quest stories almost blow away anything that’s come before, but I’m a quest reader/doer so the appeal for me is probably different than the average player.

        I’m enjoying myself, but mostly because I’ve kept my main to myself. Selfish or not to keep it upbeat for me I wanted to do things at my very own pace. It lets me smell the roses a bit more than say someone who’s almost 85. I didn’t want to hardcore grrl it right at the start and I really am enjoying this expansion more because of that decision.

        Do some of the new instances, they are SO much fun. I am madly in love with Raz from Blackrock Caverns! I’m all giddy that its no longer “round em up pardner and lets AE em down!” for the trash and the bosses require actual thought.

        I will say that the QQ in chats does tend to bring my fun down really quickly. May I suggest that even as important as you are to the personality and temperament of our guild that you take a little gchat break.

      • December 10, 2010 at 2:05 pm

        Cheres said:
        its no longer “round em up pardner and lets AE em down!” for the trash

        I have read in a couple of places that you can still AE down the trash in normal dungeons. I had hoped that wouldn’t be the case.

      • December 10, 2010 at 4:07 pm

        Well it is doable to AE the trash but its faster, safer and easier to pull smarter.

  4. 12 Toxicwaste
    December 10, 2010 at 11:43 am

    It’s almost unavoidable that within a month all the new quest/5 man content will be consumed, professions will be maxed out and we’ll be back to achievements and end game. I’m hoping there’ll be more thought and variety to the end game as opposed to another year doing the ICC equivalent. I’ve avoided reading up on what’s to come to add some sense of discovery and surprise.

    Archaeology has clearly been designed to reflect the dynamic and variable nature of that pursuit. Geez, it’s dull, repetative and grindy.

    The best zone I’ve been in in the last month, despite it not presenting a challenge, was Silverpine…for the first time in 5 years I experienced a story line that was engaging and logical (rather than a means to an end of getting to the next level).

    Which suggests that this expansion is all about alts…which for me would mean rolling another rogue or, at a stretch, a pally.

    • December 10, 2010 at 4:08 pm

      Silverpine has been hands down the most outstanding zone yes. Hillsbrad came a close second

    • 14 Broch
      December 10, 2010 at 5:32 pm

      I’ve played both Silverpine as a blood elf and parts of Azshara as a troll and in both cases I found myself having to try and come up with ways to justify my character’s actions, which is pretty impressive as far as I’m concerned. I’m not convinced that my rationalizations were really all that successful but I was enjoying the zones so much that I kept going anyway. The fact that the zone stories provoked that much of a thought process though is pretty impressive.

  5. 15 Revolver
    December 13, 2010 at 8:15 am

    Yea…i still needed 6 days to become 85 …and theres nothing much to do yet…its hard to get groups for heroics cos if u come lately home or so then there are still groups and you get nothing…then i must go random and have to wait 50 minutes…it sucks…i level my professions now…

  6. 16 Revolver
    December 13, 2010 at 8:23 am

    I meant heroics with guild mates of course^^


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,213,415 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

