16
Nov
10

What’s left?

Last week, one of our guild members whispered me and asked, “why do you log in every day?”  It was an innocent question, but raises a deep point.

There are many who play the game driven by external rewards – things that Blizzard gives to them such as gear, titles, mounts, and other status symbols.  If you see someone sitting on the bridge in Ironforge, showing off his new drake mount, he’s probably one of them.

For those people, its easy to run out of things to do.  Ask them if they want to run ICC 10 this week and you’re likely to get a response like “Sorry – I don’t need any gear from there.”  They earned reputation only with the factions that had the best rewards for their class, and ground out enough badges to get their gear upgraded, and they have no more goals.

I’m not saying that there is anything wrong with that at all.  Its just that, for those players the game is probably very dull right now.  There are no rewards left to earn, so what is the point in logging on?

Me?  I can create my own intrinsic goals.  I don’t depend on Blizzard to give me a pony every time I log in.  I can still fly across Storm Peaks and appreciate the attention paid to the design of the sheer cliff faces.  I can sit in Dalaran and enjoy /g and /o chat for a long time without doing much of anything else.  I can grind Ravenholdt rep just to get another Exalted reputation under my belt (I’m not going for the Insane title).

I’m done with Loremaster and I got myself the Scepter of the Shifting Sands.  I finished the Netherwing rep grind.  I am not totally geared out – I still have a 245 wrist and 232 trinket that could use replacing, but that’s not a top priority because I’m doing fine without the upgrades.

Here are the goals I have set for myself before Cataclysm hits:

  • Get as many exalted reputations as I can.  There is actually a tangible goal for this – I want to help my guild get access to the Dark Phoenix Hatchling for having 55 exalted reputations.  We have two players the the guild with The Exalted title for 40 exalted reps, so we’re close.  I think we have 46 Exalted reputations in the guild.  It shouldn’t take long to knock out another nine Cataclysm reputations, but the closer we can get before the expansion, the better.  Right now I’m working on Ravenholdt (yuk), Thorium Brotherhood, and the Steamwheedle factions.
  • Hit 100,000 gold.  I don’t really need this much gold, so its just an arbitrary target.  I had 20k before I took up inscription, and its been a fun couple of months, highlighted by Glyphmas when patch 4.0 dropped.  The auction house business has really died down lately, so I’m having a hard time getting the last 10k that I need for this goal.  I have a few weeks left, so I should be able to grind this out even if I do it with dailies and herb gathering.
  • Get the Kingslayer title on my main. Done (finally).
  • Get another group of guildies the Kingslayer title.  This is a tough one because many of them have never tried the Lich King fight before, and its got a steep learning curve.  Still, its the least I can do now that I have two toons with the title.
  • Try to figure out subtlety dps.  After an initial adjustment period, my mutilate dps is back to being acceptable.  I still can’t out-dps the mages, but I’m back to beating the other melee again (most of the time).  I want to give subtlety another go.  At this point, my raids can “carry” me a bit while I work out the complicated rotations.

That’s enough to keep me busy for the next couple of weeks.  I’ll also be logging on a little less in anticipation of the marathon gaming post-expansion.  I still have a guild to run and get ready for the expansion as well.

3 Responses to “What’s left?”


  1. 1 Hamacus
    November 16, 2010 at 9:01 am

    The Moose…I log on every day in hopes of getting my Moose! Just kidding. I was recently asked that by a friend at work and told him “because the game is still fun for me”. He along with a few other friends quit the game a couple of months ago stating that WoW sucks now and that they were tired of it. To that I say…well I will not say because they are friends, but IMO the excitement is still there and it seems there is so much to see and do that the question is how to get it all done. That and when will I get my Moose? :P

  2. November 16, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    I’d love to see your comments and ideas on Subtlety. Most everything I read gets to Sub and its like “Wow, this is so complicated so we won’t cover this, and no one really uses this other than PVP and not raiding.” Which is so annoying. I’ve always been Sub and am myself still getting use to the new ways of trying out rotations.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,212,958 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

