15
Nov
10

I Want to Believe

Blizzard is really touting this “playable at midnight” thing for the launch of the expansion.

http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.html?topicId=27497533857&pageNo=1&sid=1#0

Now, the question is – can they fulfill that promise?

We all know that WoW’s servers have a tendency to overload on big patch days.  Blizzard seems to be going out on a limb here.  They are promising a playable game at midnight PST on December 7th.

I assume that there has to be some server down time as they flick the “Cataclysm” switch to ON.  When will that happen?  The night of December 6th, perhaps?  Do we believe that everything will be ready to go at midnight, Dec 7th?  Past history does not seem to support this.

When the Cataclysm launch date was announced, my first thought was, “I’m taking the day off of work!”  Then my second thought was “Why would I do that?  The servers will be down all day anyway.”  That’s based on years of experience with patches and launches.

All the hype is making me think again about taking Dec 7th off of work to install and play the game.  I might be setting myself up for disappointment.

What do you think?  Will the game actually be playable on December 7th at midnight PST?  Or do you expect hours and hours of delays and downtime?

6 Responses to “I Want to Believe”


  1. November 15, 2010 at 11:38 am

    1) Just like with Wrath’s launch day, I’m expecting server outages, login queues, and bugs/glitches galore. This isn’t a gripe against Blizz. Any time you’re releasing that much code to production, no matter how much it’s been tested, you’re going to have problems. That’s how this line of work goes.

    2) Looking back on how I treated questing in the first weeks of Wrath, all gogogogogo, I’m kind of disappointed. I want to enjoy the experience more and actually pay attention to what I’m doing.

    I’m still working on Dec 7. I don’t expect Amazon/UPS to have my order to me before noon, anyway.

    I did take the rest of the week off, though…

  2. 2 Johnny
    November 15, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    I was off work for the last 2 release dates and my server didn’t havea single problem other than some understandable lag

    Then again the 2.0 and 3.0 patches were not nearly as buggy as the 4.0

    I have faith

  3. November 15, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Next thing you know, they’ll be promising health care for allies. I don’t see it working out like glass, but I think it will be playable.
    Random: Have you seen the rogue T11 yet? Just loaded a premade 85 last night.

  4. November 16, 2010 at 1:24 am

    I suspect they’re going to be better setup for it than previously, but having so many players leveling in only two zones is going to get messy.

    I’m thinking of spending the night leveling one of my low-level dwarven alts instead of joining the headlong rush to 85 right off the bat; the new leveling zones are probably going to be packed to the point of effectively breaking quest mob respawning, so it may be faster just to let the logjam break up.

  5. 6 Masoa of Mal'Ganis
    November 19, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    Definitely not on my server, but OTOH I’m getting the collectors so it will be an extra wait for me.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,200,129 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

