30
Aug
10

Killing Time on the Loading Screen

I run WoW on a pretty old computer…  2.2GHz Athlon 64 with 1 GB of RAM.  I also play with a significant handful of add-ons.

The game runs fine, even in 25 man raids, so I have no complaints.  The only time it struggles is on loading screens.  Between my low-end specs and all the add-ons that have to load, I’ll sit on a loading screen for a good 20-30 seconds or sometimes more when zoning into an instance or starting the game.

Usually I just sit there for that time staring at the screen, waiting for something to happen.  Recently I’ve found a couple of activities that fit well into that 30-second time span.


I loved this game when I was a kid (and it was state-of-the-art) and Mattel has faithfully reproduced it and re-released it.  I can get in 3-5 plays while on a loading screen, and then set it aside.  It goes to sleep mode when left alone, so its ready to be picked up again the next time I’m on a loading screen.

I keep about 5-7 games of Words with Friends going at once on my iPod.  Whenever I’m on a loading screen I check the iPod and its usually my turn in at least a couple of games.  In the 30 seconds I’m waiting, I can usually find a word and take my turn in one game.

I love to listen to The Instance podcast.  When I’m playing the game, especially when raiding, I’m too into what I am doing to spare my attention for a podcast.  On loading screens, I can listen to about 30-40 seconds of a segment.  Over the course of a whole night of raiding, that can add up to a good chunk of time.

Of course, I aspire to eventually get a new computer that will run faster and reduce my loading screens.  When that happens I guess my Words with Friends, Mattel Football, and Instance time will be cut severely.  Oh well, you can win em all.

2 Responses to “Killing Time on the Loading Screen”


  1. August 30, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    Huh. What I always do is look at my watch and count the time it takes…..But your idea’s are WAY better.

  2. 2 Hamacus
    August 30, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    OMG! Where do I get the Mattel football emulator? I can not count how many hours my brother and I spent playing that game. Also love The Instance with and I listen to all the Podcast on http://frogpants.com

    If anything were to happen to The Dragons (God forbid) Alea Iacta Est would be the only other guild I’d ever consider joining. They seem like The Dragons on Steroids :) I almost feel like a member as I have followed them for so long.

    Back to point…I frequently listen to the multiple podcast I follow not only at loading screens but during slow raid nights or while questing. Helps to get through mundane task like rep grinds.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,213,783 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

