10
Aug
10

Lich King

You know what’s good about the design of the Lich King fight?  It doesn’t matter how much Wrynn buffs your raid.  You still have to do it right or you’ll die.  There aren’t many fights in ICC that manage that feat of design.  Putricide to an extent, and Sindragosa for certain.  But the other fights?  They still need some strategy, but with the 30% buff a lot of the details can be overlooked or even ignored without penalty.

My guild finally got around to killing the Lich King.  We got past Sindragosa some time ago, and had cleared the rest of ICC well before that.  The strategy for Arthas had eluded us until this week when it just clicked, as often happens on these technical fights.

It doesn’t matter how much health you have, if the Val’kyr drops you off the edge then you’re dead.  If you stand in a Defile then the raid wipes.  If the Infest doesn’t get healed away quickly then its unhealable.

What the Wrynn buff does provide is the ability to kill the Val’kyr a little faster, maybe make the heals hit a little harder, maybe let the tank survive a hit that would have killed him otherwise.  It makes the fight more forgiving, but still far from trivial.

Our success brings me happiness, pride and sadness. My happiness is for my guild.  We have a very talented core, but our casual approach to the game has always kept us a little behind the most current progression.  This is the first time that we have killed the hardest available content, even if it took us a long, long time to get around to it.  I’m glad that my group of friends and I have had the opportunity to experience all that WoW has to offer.

My pride comes from the fact that I tanked the fight.  I had almost no experience tanking pre-ICC.  When one of our our main tanks stopped playing WoW, I took my paladin tank from tanking heroics to tanking ToC to defeating the Lich King in a very short time.  I’m glad I was able to do that, for the sake of my guild, since we are very short on tanks.  I felt like I did a good job and that my lack of tanking experience didn’t become a liability.

My sadness is from having the Kingslayer title on a character other than my main.  I really want the achievement to go to Dinaer, so we now need to gear up another tank and get him/her the experience so that he/she can take my place in the fight and let me in there on my rogue. I’m not going to display the Kingslayer title on my paladin until I get it on my main.

Maybe I need to write a tankadin guide to the fight  =)   That would be a change of pace.

Congratulations the The Dragons (Sen’jin-US) on defeating Arthas!  On to heroic modes!

11 Responses to “Lich King”


  1. August 11, 2010 at 12:28 am

    Congrats, indeed. I’m hoping that we’ll be following you on that this Friday… we shall see!

  2. 3 Hamacus
    August 11, 2010 at 8:31 am

    Congrats on the kill! I will be in a similar situation as I am having to switch to my Rogue instead of taking him down on my Priest on whom I wanted the title first. I will however gladly display it on my Rogue as I just want the bugger dead at this point. :)

    • 4 Sinshaman
      August 11, 2010 at 2:36 pm

      Don’t listen to Ham. He whines about playing his Priest one day, then you tell him he can bring the character he “wants.” Then, he posts this stuff. Congrats, I am hoping to get a team togther that will put forth the time required to down Sindy and LK effectively.

      • 5 Hamacus
        August 11, 2010 at 4:19 pm

        Yes I like a nice Pinot Noir with my Ham but prefer a Chardonnay with my Paramessu :P

      • August 12, 2010 at 8:41 am

        A quick scan of World of Logs shows me that we killed LK on our 67th attempt. Those 67 attempts spanned over nine nights of trying him (with a couple of re-clears of ICC in between).

        We had almost the same team in place for the last three nights (only replacing one person, I think), which included twenty attempts. Having a consistent team is important, because there is a steep learning curve.

        Also, putting a Discipline priest in the raid made an enormous difference.

      • August 12, 2010 at 10:43 am

        I’d have to say Ham would be more helpful then Para or that evil gnome on the last two fights.

      • 8 Sinshaman
        August 12, 2010 at 2:00 pm

        Look I am trying to get a rogue the Kingslayer title. Please stop talking him back into playing his priest.

      • August 13, 2010 at 10:55 am

        Whoopsie. Ham don’t read what I said before!I can priest if you want but I’d need a respec and a retrain in how to play as Disc. I haven’t really done that this xpac.

  3. 10 Drowningpool
    August 15, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Great post next time u guys kill the lich king I plan to be there :)


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 92 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 91 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 91 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 92 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,219,549 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

