19
Jul
10

Milestone and some history

I never got into blogging to get lots of pageviews.  Yes, its nice when people want to read what I have to say, but sheer numbers are not a priority.  I never installed Google Analytics, I have no idea how many people read the blog in a feed reader.  Its nice information, but its not my main focus.  The only statistic I have is the view counter that’s build into wordpress.com.  Is that accurate?  Beats me.

For what its worth, it hit 500,000 views last week.  That’s pretty cool.

I’ve been playing since March 2006.  I started reading WoW blogs after a little more than a year of playing – sometime in late 2007.  I started the Forever a Noob blog in January 2008.  Back then, there were very few WoW blogs (mostly druid blogs, as I remember) and the math of WoW wasn’t as widely known.  It was all there in WoWWiki for anyone who took the time to research it, so there was a niche for new bloggers who wanted to collect and disseminate all that information for the masses.

In its first month the blog had 39 views, almost all from Valenna at the defunct Parry! Dodge! Spin! rogue blog.  My first post that got some attention was discussion about playing WoW with your spouse.  The first time I got linked by numerous other blogs was when I observed that PvP realms were lagging in progress on the Quel’Danas dailies.  What really launched this blog, though, were my Karazhan guides for rogues.  Those remain some of my all-time most viewed posts.  They later inspired me to do Naxx guides (also very popular), Ulduar guides, and ICC guides (still unfinished).

My all-time most popular post, which still gets over 100 hits a day, is my explanation of hit rating in WotLK.  That one post has had more than 50,000 views.

Since I’m traveling down memory lane, here are some screenshots of my playing days.  Unfortunately, I didn’t discover the screenshot function until 2007 – almost a year after I started playing.  My first screenshots are just before BC dropped, so I don’t have any shots of my first 60 levels.

The first screenshot I have saved is this…

For those who don’t know, that’s a 40-man world boss that is summoned as part of a Silithus questline.  Someone in our guild found him in the desert, and we gathered a whole bunch of us to try to fight him, and failed miserably.  It was the first big “event” that had happened after I joined my first guild, and it was a blast.

A huge event was the opening of the Dark Portal when BC was released.  For the days just before and right after the opening, the space in front of the Portal was a huge world PvP free-for all.

Here’s an early shot of me and my wife while leveling in Zangarmarsh.  I like the way we are looking at each other.

Here’s me standing over the corpse of Grandmaster Vorpil in Shadow Lab.  I’m pretty sure that no one leveling now even sees Shadow Lab.  If you’ve never been in Shadow Lab – imagine an instance (not a raid) that could take upward of 5 hours to complete, with bosses that challenged even pretty well-geared groups.  And that’s on regular, not heroic.  Vorpil was our bane back in the day.

This next shot is our first ever pull in Karazhan.  This followed a night of drama, as picking the 10 who would go into our first raid caused some ruffled feathers and eventually a split in the guild.  Unlike Wrath raids, Karazhan was a challenge right from the start.  On our first night of raiding we never even made it to the first boss.  It took months of raiding to progress through Karazhan.

After the first foray into Karazhan, I got pretty heavily into raiding, so most of my screenshots are of boss kills.  I won’t include those.

My last screenshot is a little more recent.  This is the world event in Stormwind just before WotLK, where the new SW harbor was opened up and attacked by the Lich King’s forces.

This is a good reminder for those who are new to WoW that Blizzard does fascinating lore events leading up to new expansions.  They did it for BC and Wrath, and I expect something equally cool for Cataclysm.

Thanks to everyone who has read my blog.  I’ll keep it up if you keep reading.

9 Responses to “Milestone and some history”


  1. July 19, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Oooh! Some lovely memories evoked here. Thanks! I have had some very similar experiences to you :)

    And keep going! I still read you. Hugs, Seph xx

  2. 2 Hamacus
    July 19, 2010 at 10:35 am

    Hand clap and many kudos to you and the keep up the great work. I remember getting thoroughly pawned in Silithus that day :)

    I also remember that Kara run and I think we gave up on the boss that first night and worked on the spiders. After getting pawned by them for a bit we finally prevailed and killed SOMETHING in Kara….good times.

    Here’s hoping that Cataclysm brings us many new and fascinating challenges. I also look forward to you sharing your unique and entertaining insight throughout this new chapter.

  3. July 19, 2010 at 11:02 am

    Grats on your milestone !

    And hey, some of those screenies are milestones of their own.

  4. July 19, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    Indeed; I’ve been on a similar path, and if I didn’t write for a living, I might contribute more to the WoW community. I just found your blog this year, and enjoy every entry. Keep up the good work, and thanks for the AQ idea. I need something to do until Cata ;).
    Darynn – Rexxar

  5. July 20, 2010 at 3:01 am

    Dang. My screenshots arent like this at all. I usually just get like. Pics of stupid glitches. Or like. Enviroment ones. But i mean. Yeah. Great screenshots man =)

  6. 6 Hamacus
    July 20, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    And you know what…a picture IS worth a thousand words. Look at the Kara pic. The Priest pre healing with PoM which at the time caused the heal generated to be credited to the tank increasing threat. One hunter with an ice trap down (what…CC?) and both with their pets obviously not set to aggressive. The uber Rogue patiently waiting for tank (also uber) to get the mob in position. Off tank at the ready. The Druid in all her uber treeness (boo Blizzard for taking that away in Cataclysm). Shadow Priest again waiting patiently to do that voodoo that they do so well… and the Lock…is she stuck under the table again? :)

    • July 21, 2010 at 9:33 am

      Great observations, Hamacus. #1, the game sure is different today. #2, since we clearly knew what we were doing, why didn’t we even make it past the trash! lol

      I still have the screenshot of the lock stuck under the table…

    • July 21, 2010 at 11:10 am

      Any hunter or warlock with their pet on aggressive should be booted from the raid. I don’t care what xpac we’re in that should be a zero tolerance issue. :)

  7. September 6, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    Really cool post, wish I had some of my earliest screens.

    Sorry for the comment 2 months after the fact, a WordPress generated link on one of my posts led me here – love the blog!


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,213,481 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

