16
Jun
10

Rogue Cataclysm Talent Preview Part 2

The first post went through the Assassination tree, which has a lot of changes.  Now I’ll look at the Combat tree.

The first change is that Improved Gouge was moved from the first talent tier all the way up to the 7th.  I don’t see why, but OK.  Improved Slice and Dice was moved up a little higher, also.  That was moved to make room for Improved Recuperate.

Improved Recuperate (2/2) – Causes your Recuperate ability to restore an additional 1/2% of your health.

Recuperate is a new skill being added in Wrath that lets you use your combo points to heal yourself.  Its definitely a soloing talent.  I don’t know how attractive this will be, unless we’re forced to take points in it as filler to get the higher level talents.  Unless….. well, read on for more speculation.

Close Quarters Combat is gone, and replaced by Aggression, which was moved lower.  I suppose that Aggression might be available for Mut or Sub rogues now, although I don’t think Mut rogues will take it, even if Backstab is the new Execute.

There’s a fascinating new talent up where Hack and Slash used to be (yes, that’s gone too).  Its called Reinforced Leather.

Reinforced Leather (5/5) – Increases your armor contribution from cloth and leather by 10/20/30/40/50%.

Could we see tanking rogues?  That’s the only reason a talent like this would exist, other than some pvp utility.

Mace Specialization is gone (all the weapon-specific talents are removed).  Then there are few changes all the way up to the 40-point tier where Sturdy Recuperation makes an appearance.

Sturdy Recuperation (2/2) – Reduces all damage taken by 4/8% while your Recuperate ability is active.

Combine Reinforced Leather with Sturdy Recuperation.  I don’t see this as made for soloing – its too many defensive talents.  To me, it really points to rogue tanks.

So far, all the new Combat talents are defensive.  Finally, at the 45 point tier there is a new damage talent – Restless Blades.

Restless Blades (3/3) – Your damaging finishing moves reduce the cooldown of your Blade Flurry, Killing Spree, and Sprint abilities by 0.5/1.0/1.5 seconds per combo point.

Interesting.  So if you have this fully talented, for every 5-point finisher you do it knocks 7.5 seconds off your cooldowns.  That could add up pretty quickly.  Its a creative talent.  Those are often unpopular, because its harder to see exactly how well they will translate to improved damage.  I’m sure EJ will have it all figured out.

I think that Combat rogues are likely disappointed.  They didn’t get any really shiny changes, unless the possibility of tanking intrigues someone.  Still, I have no doubt this will continue to be a popular spec, as it always is.

Next post will be Subtlety, where there are more changes.

6 Responses to “Rogue Cataclysm Talent Preview Part 2”


  1. 1 Jawn
    June 16, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    I expect Improved Gouge is moved because leveling rogues will first learn the ability at a much later level.

    I don’t really expect rogues to tank, although I would welcome that change. We’d need a lot more than a couple talents to pull that off, and it seems that rogues have one of the most complete Cata talent trees out there at the moment. I think we’d see more concrete evidence of that change, by this point.

    As a rogue that’s been combat for several years now, I’m pleased with the redesigned tree, for the most part. Restless Blades sounds like it could be fun and I’m really happy to see the weapon specific talents go away. After playing with the combat tree, it’s pretty easy to deduce where our points will go for maximum DPS, and we end up with more optional points than ever before. That seems like a good thing.

    The biggest point of complaint I have is regarding the late tree. With Restless Blades and Prey on the Weak in the same tier, we have eight points of DPS talents to take. If it ends up best to max both of those out, we’ll pretty much be required to go 54 points into the tree, which gives us less ability to dabble in other trees. For me, it makes me feel a little cheated that I have to spend those extra points, when I was forced to “waste” points on utility/defensive abilities lower in the tree. A small complaint, overall, but it seems like they’re giving us more freedom than before and then taking a bit back late in the tree.

    • June 16, 2010 at 10:40 pm

      I’m not really expecting rogue tanking either. Except why add these increased armor/health talents?

      Remember that we are getting a big boost to Stamina in Cataclysm, so I doubt its that important for soloing. And unless raid damage is off the charts, we don’t need damage reduction in raids. What other purpose could they have, besides PvP?

  2. 3 Stonedrake
    June 16, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    I go assassination and combat fairly regularly, though I admit it’s Mutispec for raiding and combat spec for soloing. As such, I’m really happy with the changes to Combat.

    As for Combat for raiding, I’m still pretty happy. It seems like there’s less emphasis on balls-to the-wall DPS and more on careful play. More thought and less rote memorization. I like that.

  3. 5 scotth
    June 18, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Is there anything there to increase threat? I do not see rogues ranking without added threat generation.

    • June 18, 2010 at 5:49 pm

      Not that I see. I’m not suggesting that rogues be main tanks. It doesn’t fit with the lore. However, if rogues aren’t going to have some role like that, then there are a bunch of useless talents being added to the tree.

      I can’t think of any time in my rogue playtime where I have said, “Darn, I wish I had more armor and some damage reduction.” except in pvp, perhaps.


Leave a Reply

Armory

Dinaer - 90 Assassination Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Derence - 90 Prot/Ret Paladin (US - Sen'Jin)
Metius - 90 Shadow Priest (US - Sen'Jin)
Liebnitz - 90 Arcane Mage (US - Sen'Jin)
Fastad - 90 Subtlety Rogue (US - Sen'Jin)
Darishin - 90 Resto/Balance Druid (US - Sen'Jin)
June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Add to Technorati Favorites
website statistics








World of Warcraft™ and Blizzard Entertainment® are all trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment in the United States and/or other countries. These terms and all related materials, logos, and images are copyright © Blizzard Entertainment. This site is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment®

Blog Stats

  • 1,187,069 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

